Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions
Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread! >

Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread!

Like Tree3Likes

Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread!

Old 10-24-2011, 10:55 PM
  #2311  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
Coppercanyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,023
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

I have a Mamba Monster ESC V3 and a Castle/NEU 1800 kv motor in my 1/8th buggy and when I crash and the buggy lands on its wheels and rolls backwards my esc will not move until the buggy comes to a complete stop. It sometimes costs valuable racing seconds compared to if you could just punch it and go again. Im guessing it is designed this way to prevent drivetrain damage but not sure. Is there a way to set up the esc so I can just go as soon as the car settles? I have a castle link so if possible please advise.... Thanks.
Coppercanyon is offline  
Old 10-25-2011, 02:50 PM
  #2312  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
dangerwr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 2,245
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Coppercanyon
I have a Mamba Monster ESC V3 and a Castle/NEU 1800 kv motor in my 1/8th buggy and when I crash and the buggy lands on its wheels and rolls backwards my esc will not move until the buggy comes to a complete stop. It sometimes costs valuable racing seconds compared to if you could just punch it and go again. Im guessing it is designed this way to prevent drivetrain damage but not sure. Is there a way to set up the esc so I can just go as soon as the car settles? I have a castle link so if possible please advise.... Thanks.
I have experienced the "phenomena" in the past. I do not want to by "that guy" and say for you not to crash and problem solved! However, there is no setting on the ESC that creates this behavior. What you are likely experiencing is a voltage spike to the ESC after a crash. What I awlays recommend to people who run the MMM is to secure it twice as well as you think is needed. I am not sure what buggy you are running but find a way to bolt that thing down. I use the E-Revo mount Traxxas put out a while back to secure it in my Losi. Problem solved.
dangerwr is offline  
Old 11-09-2011, 04:55 PM
  #2313  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Posts: 186
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default Micro Pro

I just bought this and I programmed it with the transmitter but everything I've seen says that it's Castle Link compatible. I don't see anywhere on it where you can plug in a USB cable. Is there somewhere on it that I missed?
RC104ever is offline  
Old 11-09-2011, 05:09 PM
  #2314  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (10)
 
squirlnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 111
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC104ever
I just bought this and I programmed it with the transmitter but everything I've seen says that it's Castle Link compatible. I don't see anywhere on it where you can plug in a USB cable. Is there somewhere on it that I missed?
did you get one of these?
Attached Thumbnails Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread!-castlelink.jpg  
squirlnuts is offline  
Old 11-09-2011, 05:10 PM
  #2315  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Posts: 186
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Edit- duh, I realized I have to plug in the ESC to the castle link and then use the USB cable. Sorry had a blonde moment!

Last edited by RC104ever; 11-09-2011 at 06:50 PM.
RC104ever is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 11:03 AM
  #2316  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Coppercanyon
I have a Mamba Monster ESC V3 and a Castle/NEU 1800 kv motor in my 1/8th buggy and when I crash and the buggy lands on its wheels and rolls backwards my esc will not move until the buggy comes to a complete stop. It sometimes costs valuable racing seconds compared to if you could just punch it and go again. Im guessing it is designed this way to prevent drivetrain damage but not sure. Is there a way to set up the esc so I can just go as soon as the car settles? I have a castle link so if possible please advise.... Thanks.
Since it is sensorless system when it rolls backwards the esc cannot find zero timing on the motor and because of that it won't go forward until the truck stops. Once it stops the speedo can find zero timing and start running forward again. That is one thing sensored does better than a sensorless system.
wyd is offline  
Old 12-11-2011, 08:16 PM
  #2317  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
Azagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Bay Area
Posts: 298
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I was wondering if anyone has also encountered cogging issues at low acceleration using the latest 1.32 firmware. This is in a brand new MM manufactured in Nov. (Opened the case to see date on sticker.) I am using a Tekin 1900 motor. I switched to 1.24 and the cogging was gone, so plan to just stick with that. Just wondering if this is a normal occurrence.
Azagar is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 11:49 AM
  #2318  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (30)
 
highster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SW PA
Posts: 760
Trader Rating: 30 (97%+)
Default

Originally Posted by goinbrokeracin
What is the story with the Castle Link Graph viewer? I have the Mamba Max Pro. I assume the MMP isnt one of the speedos that works with the viewer. Thanks. Bob
Originally Posted by florianlaux
any information about this?

Does the graph viewer work with the MM pro?

When yes, how?
After reading about 12+ pages and not finding an anwser, I'm still wondering this also.

Does the Graph-veiw work with a Mamba Max or Mamba Max Pro?

It seems like a cool feature/idea, but I cant seem to find away to make it work.

Thanks,
Tom
highster is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 11:59 AM
  #2319  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (30)
 
highster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SW PA
Posts: 760
Trader Rating: 30 (97%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Azagar
I was wondering if anyone has also encountered cogging issues at low acceleration using the latest 1.32 firmware. This is in a brand new MM manufactured in Nov. (Opened the case to see date on sticker.) I am using a Tekin 1900 motor. I switched to 1.24 and the cogging was gone, so plan to just stick with that. Just wondering if this is a normal occurrence.
I did notice this too. But at the same time I updated, I also changed gearing and was thinking it was due to my gearing changes. I will have to go back to 1.24 and check it out.
highster is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 12:01 PM
  #2320  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Default

Tom,

The graph viewer only works with the ICE (airplane/heli) controllers and the Mamba XL (1/5th scale) ESCs. Those are the only controllers that have datalogging capability at the moment.

Joe
Joe Ford is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 12:11 PM
  #2321  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (30)
 
highster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SW PA
Posts: 760
Trader Rating: 30 (97%+)
Default

Thank you for the fast response. I can quit felling stupid now.

Any plans on adding it in a future firmware update?
highster is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 12:22 PM
  #2322  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Default

It would have to be a new controller...hardware change would be needed as well as software.
Joe Ford is offline  
Old 01-08-2012, 01:58 PM
  #2323  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
gtsakiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Demolished Shore, NJ
Posts: 1,088
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default MMM cutting out

Hey Joe,

Long time user of the MMM, I have an issue with two of my MMM recently thats got me baffled. Im running them in a 8T2.0, with a venom 70c/5300 4 cell lipo, spectrum telemtry rec., castle CC BEC set to 6v, JR servo 9100t, currently running my truggy motor in it 2000kv(my 1900 is in for service).
Anyway thats the setup, now the problem:
I get intermittant throttle interuption on hard acceleration, and complete cutout out on 90% of my hard landings. I DNF'd two heats and the main last weekend it was quite frustrating. After the second heats DNF, I put in a spare ESC(MMM) that I have and the same stuff. After coming up with zero, I took this approach:
replaced deans connector on ESC
resoldered bullets that go into ESC from motor wires in case wire was broken inside sheathing
replaced receiver with spare spectrum

Went to park today with a buddy and just started hitting the skateboard ramp, with massive air, I was hitting this large grassy knoll to reduce slamming, but the G's of motion where still the same and I was able to recreate the shut down. My buddy was at the DMZ and said that when it landed the ESC would shut off and then he would hear it reboot. When the unit goes out, I still have steering from the BEC, but no throttle obviously. then you hear the start up tone and its back running.
Again, its on harsh landings but normal as far as track racing(even though I try to downside). Also intermittent throttle outages under acceleration.
I am stumped, two ESC;s doing the same thing.
Any thoughts other than fan wire being cut into, which I am going to look for tonight, that was an issue with some MMM years ago.

going to motorama soon and I am stumped
gtsakiris is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 06:14 PM
  #2324  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: wichita, ks
Posts: 158
Default

Hello, I have the MMP system with the 5700kV motor. I'm noticing that sometimes during hard acceleration from a stand still or low rpms my truck will take off then suddenly slam on the brakes on its own then take off again. What could be the problem?

Also when using the Castle Link USB Adaptor do I connect the three prongs from the adaptor into the plug for the esc that goes into the receiver?
coconut is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 12:28 PM
  #2325  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (109)
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 3,290
Trader Rating: 109 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by coconut
Hello, I have the MMP system with the 5700kV motor. I'm noticing that sometimes during hard acceleration from a stand still or low rpms my truck will take off then suddenly slam on the brakes on its own then take off again. What could be the problem?

Also when using the Castle Link USB Adaptor do I connect the three prongs from the adaptor into the plug for the esc that goes into the receiver?
you may need to upgrade your battery to fix the stutter. i had this problem when i tried some old 6 cell packs but once i put a new lipo on everything was fine.

yes plug the prongs into the plug. make sure you plug it in correctly.
LOW ET is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.