Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions
Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread! >

Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread!

Like Tree3Likes

Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread!

Old 11-14-2010, 08:12 AM
  #2281  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (19)
 
MindThoughts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 766
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default Mamba Max Pro- in sensoreless mode- question.

Hi-
I'm running the Mamba Max Pro with built in BEC and the Steve Neu 1409 1Y motor in my full carbon fiber(by Matrix Concepts Inc) Hyper 9E 1/8th scale 4wheel Drive Buggy. This is a sensoreless motor and I have the speed control set to sensoreless. Here is the question:

When I first pull the trigger ever so little- the buggy seems to have a surge of power for a second- and then the rpm's drop down to where they should be. In other words- from zero rpm to a progressively slightly higher rpm- or throttle input- the buggy is not able to give a smooth rpm increase without the seeming surge of power going into the motor. This power surge is not really noticeable when running the buggy on the track- and I've considered that this surge of power may have something to do with the motor being sensoreless- but neverthless- I would like to know for certain if there is some way to smooth out the progressive transition of smooth rpm inrease from zero rpm to the max rpm determined by battery voltage being used at any given time. As I recal- when I ran a Mamba Monster esc with my Neu/Castle 2650kv motor- the rpm from zero to- voltage determined max rpm- was always smooth and I do not ever recal a seeming power surge upon first touch of the throttle. This note is for anyone at Castle Creations Tech Support or anyone that may have technical understanding of what exactly may be taking place. I've carefully read the book- and exactly calibrated the esc proper and all settings are to the book- exact. But this doesn't mean I've not made a mistake somewhere. Anything is possible. And also keep in mind that castle creations tech support help me set the system up. But I've not yet discussed this problem with the castle creations tech support team. I thought to give this thread a try before I give castle creations a call. I must say- castle sure has incredible tech support
MindThoughts is offline  
Old 11-15-2010, 08:22 PM
  #2282  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (48)
 
wildracr29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 409
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

bump so maybe I can get some help
wildracr29 is offline  
Old 11-16-2010, 12:22 AM
  #2283  
Tech Regular
 
DJLeonardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 250
Default

Does anybody form CC ever stop by here or is this threat dead??? Seems like Tekin is doing a way better job at this.
DJLeonardo is offline  
Old 11-16-2010, 12:48 AM
  #2284  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (19)
 
MindThoughts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 766
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default Castle Creations Tech Support.

I don't know if castle is on this thread or another thread or any forum thread- at this time. But I do know when I've called them over the past two years for technical questions- they've always exceeded my expectations and solved any problem I've ever had with any of my castle creations speed controls or software setup. I'd say- just give them a call. That's what I'm going to do. And the 12 month waranty castle offers on all their motors and esc's is really hard to compete with. It's a great waranty- a great product- and you have a group of engineers that run the company. And that's completely awesome

Castle Creations Tech Support- Direct Phone Number:
(913)390-6939 Monday Through Friday- Central Standard Time.

Support Email Address:
[email protected]

Sales Questions- Email Address:
[email protected]

Fax Number Is:
(913)390-6164

Mailing Address Is:
Castle Creations, Inc.
540 North Rogers Road
Olathe, Kansas 66062.



Originally Posted by DJLeonardo
Does anybody form CC ever stop by here or is this threat dead??? Seems like Tekin is doing a way better job at this.
MindThoughts is offline  
Old 11-16-2010, 01:34 AM
  #2285  
Tech Regular
 
DJLeonardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 250
Default

I know. I have spoken to them myself a couple of times. It's just that if a good question is posted in their Q&A topic and gets a proper answer, everybody can benefit form that. And it saves them some time having to answer the same question over and over on the phone.

I know they are on , I think, RC monster.
DJLeonardo is offline  
Old 11-16-2010, 01:50 AM
  #2286  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (19)
 
MindThoughts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 766
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default An Active Thread For Castle Creations Questions and Answers.

If you or anyone finds an active thread either on RCtech or any forum (ie RC Monster), maybe someone could post a link to this active thread. That would be great- because I do completely agree with you that a good answer on the thread can answer many questions over and over again. But it seems that many people will not read the entire thread to find their answer and thus many times the same answers get asked over and over again on the forums as well.

With That Said- if you know of or find an active thread where Castle Creations post replies on a daily basis- please do post a link here on this thread. That would be really great indeed.

Originally Posted by DJLeonardo
I know. I have spoken to them myself a couple of times. It's just that if a good question is posted in their Q&A topic and gets a proper answer, everybody can benefit form that. And it saves them some time having to answer the same question over and over on the phone.

I know they are on , I think, RC monster.
MindThoughts is offline  
Old 11-16-2010, 01:54 AM
  #2287  
Tech Regular
 
DJLeonardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 250
Default

this gets visited every now and then
https://www.rc-monster.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=34
DJLeonardo is offline  
Old 11-16-2010, 02:20 AM
  #2288  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (19)
 
MindThoughts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 766
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default Link and Threads for castle creations Teck Support.

Awesome- Thank you. I'm sure all of our questions have been answered over and over again if we read all the threads lol. I'll stick with giving them a call. Greg, Thomas, Joe and Bernie are all awesome people. When I call Castle Tech Support- I feel like I'm talking with friends. They are each very passionate and knowledgeable to the point of complete clarity. These guys are top notch.

PS. Thank you for the Threads/Link. I'll most certainly spend some time researching and reading those various different threads just to learn and see what's available for Q & A.

Originally Posted by DJLeonardo
this gets visited every now and then
https://www.rc-monster.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=34
MindThoughts is offline  
Old 12-08-2010, 10:15 PM
  #2289  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
fallguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 646
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

how many volts does the MMM sent to the rx? more than 6v?
fallguy is offline  
Old 12-09-2010, 01:45 AM
  #2290  
Tech Regular
 
DJLeonardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 250
Default

A Castle tech once told me it's around 5.1 or 5.2. So.... if you want to use a powerhungry servo you will need an external 6V BEC to get the given 6V specs (obviously)
DJLeonardo is offline  
Old 01-02-2011, 08:40 AM
  #2291  
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

Is this thread dying or is already dead?
Born2Run is offline  
Old 01-09-2011, 10:19 PM
  #2292  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Default

Not dead...just extremely busy releasing new products (Baja system, 4 pole motors, Sidewinder SCT, Max Pro SCT, etc). New baby ruling the household as well, but I'll try to get on more often. Sorry guys. Calling or emailing us is always best though.
Joe Ford is offline  
Old 01-11-2011, 01:44 AM
  #2293  
Tech Regular
 
DJLeonardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 250
Default

Ok in that case I have one.

Ik hear these horror stories fo MMP's breaking down. What's the deal with that? Is there a fault in the system that needs a fix? I am in europe and just ordered 2 MMPs and a MMM form TH and I don't feel like having to send them all the way back. Ik ordered the MMP's because the RX8 form Tekin had so many issues but now they seem to be solved and I hear about MMPs going down. Any information from Caslte on this?
DJLeonardo is offline  
Old 01-11-2011, 07:49 AM
  #2294  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DJLeonardo
Ok in that case I have one.

Ik hear these horror stories fo MMP's breaking down. What's the deal with that? Is there a fault in the system that needs a fix? I am in europe and just ordered 2 MMPs and a MMM form TH and I don't feel like having to send them all the way back. Ik ordered the MMP's because the RX8 form Tekin had so many issues but now they seem to be solved and I hear about MMPs going down. Any information from Caslte on this?
Well when you sell so many you might read more about problems but that comes with the territory. If you take your time installing I would say you shouldn't have any problems. I been using them since the 1st production run and now have 3 of them and no problems. I use for test speedo so customers can try them out so it gets used very hard but it is setup correctly each time so never have any problems. The 2nd one is the one I use twice a week for over a year and never a problem. I really think alot of them not working is setup. Some do have problems and that happens as well but Castle has great customer service so it gets taken care of.

Castle has some great techs to talk with and Joe Ford is super knowledgeable on them as well. He gets crushed with emails so be patient if you send him something as he has a monster size work load. While some companies are slow with the economy Castle is growing.
wyd is offline  
Old 03-30-2011, 03:15 PM
  #2295  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (2)
 
Slash&Blitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 78
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know if you can use castle 1/8th scale motors with the traxxas vxl esc? If not, can you run the new 4 pole motors with the traxxas vxl esc?
Slash&Blitz is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.