R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions

Like Tree3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-22-2010, 09:39 PM   #2206
Tech Regular
 
Armstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 434
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Armstrong
Default

Hi, I bought a MMM with 2200kV motor from Tower Hobbies for a friend last December 31, 2009. Since I live in the Philippines, I had the ESC and motor combo shipped to a US address and had a friend bring it back to the Philippines two weeks ago. My friend was excited to try out his new ESC and motor but to his dismay, the ESC does not work and need to be replaced. I called up Castle Creations support and they say that since it has already been more than 30 days, I have to ship the ESC back to the US at my friend's expense before they ship a new one to me. I tried arguing to the support personnel I talked to that since it's brand new, they should send a prepaid mail to me with a replacement and my friend would just use that to send the ESC back, or at least they should send me a replacement first while the broken ESC is still in transit so it will be less down time for my friend.

Does anyone know someone from CC I can talk to so it would be easier for me to set up such arrangements? Thanks.

Kevin
__________________
*HPI Baja 5B Full Carbon...... *Team Associated FT T4 ..... *Team Associated FT RC8B
*HPI Baja 5B SS ................ *Team Associated FT B44 ... *Team Associated FT RC8.2
*HPI Twin .26 Savage XL .... *Team Associated SC10 4x4.. *Team Associated MGT 8.0
*HPI Wheely King .............. *Team Associated FT SC10 .. *Aquacraft UL-1 Superior
*Team Associated FT B4 .... *Team Associated FT RC8Be.. *Aquacraft Reef Racer 2
Armstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 11:05 PM   #2207
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 102
Default help please

can some one help me??i got a mm combo with the 2650 and im having probs with the esc.when i plug it in it beeps 4 time for the cell count then the green and orange light flash together and i dont get no responce at all.i sent emails to castle support but never got any responce,wich i dont think isnt very nice..any way if some one could help me that would be great

Last edited by mudunda; 02-24-2010 at 11:15 PM.
mudunda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 09:08 AM   #2208
Tech Regular
 
whoopass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 295
Default

guys can I get the general consensus on the BEC voltage for the MMP for TC racing? I think the default is 5.5V? any problems with that as I have a 7.2v FET servo?
ta
whoopass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 04:09 PM   #2209
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: HB, cali
Posts: 102
Default

w/ the MMM 2200 combo, how long can this theoretically run on 6s before the motor gets too hot? just for bashing of course
GT_legends_csl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 05:58 PM   #2210
Tech Regular
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to Joe Ford
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mudunda View Post
can some one help me??i got a mm combo with the 2650 and im having probs with the esc.when i plug it in it beeps 4 time for the cell count then the green and orange light flash together and i dont get no responce at all.i sent emails to castle support but never got any responce,wich i dont think isnt very nice..any way if some one could help me that would be great
Your ESC is sensing low voltage cutoff. Make sure your battery pack is fully charged. If you have a Castle Link plug into it and check the voltage cutoff. You may also try re-flashing the software on the controller. Give us a call if still having issues 913-390-6939 and hit 1 for tech.

Quote:
Originally Posted by whoopass View Post
guys can I get the general consensus on the BEC voltage for the MMP for TC racing? I think the default is 5.5V? any problems with that as I have a 7.2v FET servo?
ta
Totally depends on the servo you're using and the response time it has. Try it out at 5.5v and see how it does. If it feels mushy turn it up to 6v and try again. It handles up to 7.2v so it will obviously respond the best at that voltage.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GT_legends_csl View Post
w/ the MMM 2200 combo, how long can this theoretically run on 6s before the motor gets too hot? just for bashing of course
Depends on way too many factors...the vehicle you have it in, the gearing you're using, the amount of air that gets under the body, if you use a fan on the motor, the amount of stop and go driving as you draw more amps off the line than at full throttle, ambient temperature outside, wheel diameter, mesh between spur and pinion, etc etc etc. I can overheat it in 3 minutes in my speed cars or drive an hour and still be under in my Revo.
__________________
Joe Ford
Product Specialist
Castle Creations
Joe Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 12:23 AM   #2211
Tech Regular
 
whoopass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 295
Default

cheers for the tip joe, testing the MMP in the UK this sun if it stops raining in the UK. read every page on this forum, looking forward to unleashing the beast. will post results mon.
whoopass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 04:22 AM   #2212
Tech Regular
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to Joe Ford
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whoopass View Post
cheers for the tip joe, testing the MMP in the UK this sun if it stops raining in the UK. read every page on this forum, looking forward to unleashing the beast. will post results mon.
Can't wait to hear. Keep checking motor temps every minute or so whenever you make changes to gearing, timing, etc and you should be fine. Have a blast.
__________________
Joe Ford
Product Specialist
Castle Creations
Joe Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 08:12 AM   #2213
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default Firmware Damage

When Updating Firmware, arroud 20% or so
and then accident the power is cut off,

and so i turned off and back on the esc, but esc wont detected,
as electrically is on.

cant update firmware.

what to do ?
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 12:33 PM   #2214
Tech Regular
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to Joe Ford
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
When Updating Firmware, arroud 20% or so
and then accident the power is cut off,

and so i turned off and back on the esc, but esc wont detected,
as electrically is on.

cant update firmware.

what to do ?
Unfortunately, the ESC will have to come back to us for a processor change. It wiped out the code when the power was lost, and thus lost its ability to see the Castle Link (what it looks for when first powered up), and all other functions after that. It's a linear processor so if you wipe out the information at the beginning everything after that point is gone as well. Use the following form to send it in to us. After you submit the form we'll email you a copy to print out and include with the controller. http://www.castlecreations.com/support/repairs.html
__________________
Joe Ford
Product Specialist
Castle Creations
Joe Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 12:39 PM   #2215
Registered User
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

isnt that service or what?

tip for future to the guy who had that happen. try and use a computer with a battery (a laptop) or a battery backup inline when u do your link work. and that goes for any1 with any kind of linking esc. that way u wont have that issue again. i know 1 fella at a track who wired the place and thus runs a real long extension cord from another portion of the building such that he can have the computer for any1 who wants to make speedo changes (and the scoring computer) on emergency power. now of course in ur own home the battery suggestion is more feasible and u never know how long it takes for a generator to kick.

R
UltegraSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 05:16 PM   #2216
Tech Master
 
ABBOTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: St Charles ,MO
Posts: 1,207
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Ive been told that Castle has tested the 10th scale motors with the new Jammin SC. Will they stand up to this with correct gearing? Some of the guys at my track are using other brand 540 cans with this truck. Why are the castle motors burning up? Im not bashing the products at all just want to know if there is reason!
__________________
SmacTrac / STL Dirtburners / Blaze RC
ABBOTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 07:41 PM   #2217
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Stacy, MN
Posts: 333
Trader Rating: 19 (95%+)
Default

What the heck is up with the mamba max pro getting pushed back a month at a time?? I've had 2 of them on order since late December and I just noticed Horizons last update says Late MARCH??? My season starts in April, and the way it's going I'll be lucky to have them by 4th of July! I really want to stay true to my LHS and buy through them there instead of EBAY or somewhere else, but this is crazy. I hope I am not forced into a Tekin just so I can run.
Paul S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 07:03 AM   #2218
Tech Apprentice
 
bodymot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 54
Default software up date MMP

Like to say what a great Speedo the MMP is. More and more people are using them in touring car in the UK. Just wanted to know if it was possible in the next software up grade to allow own rep range end in custom cheat mode. At the moment you can only use preset end ranges e.g start 5,500 –end 5,800-6,100-6,700-8,700-20,800? It would make a lot of difference tuning to length of straight in Touring cars . I have two MMP now in my TC cars and over the moon with the punch and speed of this Speedo. Looking to getting another one for my off road CAT SX.
Ben
__________________
TC .UK. Tamiya M05, X-ray T3-09, GM Genius 120, MAMBA MAX PRO.
Member of T.M.F.F.R
bodymot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 08:43 AM   #2219
Tech Regular
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to Joe Ford
Default

Abbott....the weight of the vehicle, gearing available, and size of the motor are the major issues. The motor only motor we found that would work is the 4600 as it has the most torque. The higher kv motors just won't handle it and overheat. Lots of guys are going to longer motors like the Neu 1512 series with our MMP ESC.

Paul...we're making them by the thousands every month...we simply can't make them fast enough for you guys. The racers LOVE THEM. That's the longest wait time I've heard of though....

bodymot...this is where mathematical computation comes into play. It's just not possible to punch in any number. The numbers you see are the only ones that will work unfortunately. The motor will not operate with numbers in between what you see. I wish! Was the first thing I asked when alpha testing the ESC...
__________________
Joe Ford
Product Specialist
Castle Creations
Joe Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 04:33 PM   #2220
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,143
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul S View Post
What the heck is up with the mamba max pro getting pushed back a month at a time?? I've had 2 of them on order since late December and I just noticed Horizons last update says Late MARCH??? My season starts in April, and the way it's going I'll be lucky to have them by 4th of July! I really want to stay true to my LHS and buy through them there instead of EBAY or somewhere else, but this is crazy. I hope I am not forced into a Tekin just so I can run.
Are shop just got 12 MMPs in last week. I know we have 9 left if you need one. You can call Bumps and Jumps at 717-932-3000 and ask for Chris. They are open again in Tuesday at 3pm eastern time.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Castle Creations Appreciation Thread TeckLancer Electric On-Road 2 08-12-2008 03:16 AM
FS: Castle Creations Sidewinder with Mamba 5700 Brushless setup with Castle Link salteen R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 06-24-2008 06:51 AM
castle creations Mamba BL ESC and Trinity cobalt "B" BL motor , castle link USB vintagetamiya R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 01-14-2008 05:25 PM
Castle Creations Mamba Max paul73rc Australia Wanted to Buy 6 01-04-2008 03:41 PM
FS: Castle Creations Mamba Max ESC Mustangz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 12-16-2007 07:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:47 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net