R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions

Like Tree3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-05-2009, 08:06 PM   #2056
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,039
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drperry View Post
As long as you don't over or under gear.
Well, it's the stock gear so i think ti should be fine correct? My friend has one on his sprint 2 and it works great never gets that hot.
DriftWoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 09:14 PM   #2057
Tech Master
 
drperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 1,222
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to drperry Send a message via MSN to drperry Send a message via Yahoo to drperry
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DriftWoof View Post
Well, it's the stock gear so i think ti should be fine correct? My friend has one on his sprint 2 and it works great never gets that hot.
That's a 5.49 final drive..l You should be good, but a temp gun is always nice, lol
__________________
RC18MT - Tekin FX/Stock motor
Yokomo MR-4TC SD CM Novak GTB/LRP X-11 13.5 brushless
E-Jato - Diff still unloads in corners, with 100k weight oil in it!
drperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 09:24 PM   #2058
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,039
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drperry View Post
That's a 5.49 final drive..l You should be good, but a temp gun is always nice, lol
Temprature gun?

My stock yokomo MR4TC SD CMS has the front and back diffs locked. I don't think it'll heat the motor up. The motor gear is stock, i got integy heat sync for it. That's it. the hobby store owner said the only enemy of the brushes sidewinder combo or any brushless is heat so i want the heat to not come. This motor good for drifting?
DriftWoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 04:32 AM   #2059
Tech Master
 
drperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 1,222
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to drperry Send a message via MSN to drperry Send a message via Yahoo to drperry
Default

Yeah, hobby shop probably has a decent little $15 one... Same as what the nitro guys use.

The motor will be good for drifting, no questions there...

On the right track, my tamiya silver can drifts my MR4TC beautifully... And that's with HPI V-Groove Pro Compound tires

Haven't tried it with either of my 5700s, though... My local track only runs 13.5/19turn and 17.5/27turn
__________________
RC18MT - Tekin FX/Stock motor
Yokomo MR-4TC SD CM Novak GTB/LRP X-11 13.5 brushless
E-Jato - Diff still unloads in corners, with 100k weight oil in it!
drperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 11:01 AM   #2060
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,082
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

So, after getting my ESC fixed, i was having the same problem so i was gonna send in my motor. Because i didn't wanna wait again to run my car, i ordered a new motor as well. Come to find out the battery setting was wrong and my motor is fine. So now i have two motors. CM36 7700kv and a CM36 9000kv. Pretty excited.
marooko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 10:18 PM   #2061
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,048
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default Beta Testing

TO: Anyone that did beta testing on the MMP

Can anyone still access the private forum? I was part of the first group and I did everything I was supposed to do, but I recently went back to give some updates with new motors and batteries I have been using and I can log in but I cant do anything else. Wyd can you still post or anything? Or is it closed altogether?
burnineyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 01:15 AM   #2062
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,142
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by burnineyes View Post
TO: Anyone that did beta testing on the MMP

Can anyone still access the private forum? I was part of the first group and I did everything I was supposed to do, but I recently went back to give some updates with new motors and batteries I have been using and I can log in but I cant do anything else. Wyd can you still post or anything? Or is it closed altogether?
I just posted so it is still an open forum for the testers.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 01:23 AM   #2063
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,048
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Thats strange because I am a tester, I can access the forums and edit my posts, but I may not post anything new. I was in the first generation of testers, but I dont see why they would block me now....
burnineyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 02:45 PM   #2064
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 35
Default

hooked up my mamba and it is running real rough and I was looking at it and the leds and when I give it throttle the green led comes on then about half throotle the red light flashes and it starts jumping between red and green like its getting mixed signals and wanting to hit the brakes any one know why this would happen????????????????????
pitstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 03:04 PM   #2065
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pitstang View Post
hooked up my mamba and it is running real rough and I was looking at it and the leds and when I give it throttle the green led comes on then about half throotle the red light flashes and it starts jumping between red and green like its getting mixed signals and wanting to hit the brakes any one know why this would happen????????????????????
Hi,

I had some strange prblems with my MMonster also. After a run and cleaning the car behaved uncontrollable. I decided to give the inside of the MM a good look. After opening I saw that there had been an accumulation of sand on the bottum of the ESC. That became wet from driving and/or cleaning and seemingly shortcircuited some electronic parts.... After thorough cleaing everything behaved perfectly again!!

I also popped off the fan from the fan motor to clean the fan. After that it runs smoooth again! :O)

I am looking for a method of better protecting or maybe even sealing the bottum side of the MMM. Maybe some sealing kit (dieelectric ofcourse) But what can i use and how much must I take care of preventing heat accumulation??

Any ideas??

Rob
__________________
E-maxx 3905 MMM 2200KV, E-maxx 3905 dual 700 HO V2. E-sky Honey Bee FP
Robr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 09:46 PM   #2066
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 172
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tired Racer View Post
I just ran my new, recently purchased MM/5700 in a Slash today and at the end of the third run I saw the board inches away from its case which was still velcroed to the chassis. One mini cap head screw is missing and the case screw holes appeared widened or stripped. A good reason other ESCs use full cases.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CC Support sent me a new shell and screws; received the package 08-10-2009.
*STATUS UPDATE* Thanks CC Support!
Tired Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 02:33 PM   #2067
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: colorado springs, co
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I have a Sidewinder ESC that I updated to firmware v1.22. I have the motor connected to a Novak 13.5 brushless motor. I am using a Team Associated 5000mah 7.2v lipo (35C). I am using an M11 radio with DSS Airtronics receiver.

The motor never runs. It always cogs throughout the entire throttle range. It never gains any speed.

I have reprogrammed in many times, trying differant Start Power and Punch Control.

Nothing seems to stop the cogging. The cogging is so bad that the car will not even move.

Do you have suggestions on how I can eliminate the cogging, or get the motor to power up and run at full RPM?

thanks,
tim
rc_speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 03:34 PM   #2068
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 172
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc_speed View Post
I have a Sidewinder ESC that I updated to firmware v1.22. I have the motor connected to a Novak 13.5 brushless motor. I am using a Team Associated 5000mah 7.2v lipo (35C). I am using an M11 radio with DSS Airtronics receiver.

The motor never runs. It always cogs throughout the entire throttle range. It never gains any speed.

I have reprogrammed in many times, trying differant Start Power and Punch Control.

Nothing seems to stop the cogging. The cogging is so bad that the car will not even move.

Do you have suggestions on how I can eliminate the cogging, or get the motor to power up and run at full RPM?

thanks,
tim
I do not think you're supposed to use a sensored motor with a sensorless ESC. l think all Novak BL motors are sensored.
Tired Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 04:13 PM   #2069
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: colorado springs, co
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I talked to Caslte before I bought this sidewinder and they said that it would work with either motor type. if you use a sensored motor, you do not connect the sensor wire to anything.

I discovered the problem. One of the solder joints in the connector between the esc and motor was really loose. I resoldered this and the motor worked great.

thanks for your help,
tim
rc_speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 04:46 PM   #2070
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 172
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc_speed View Post
I talked to Caslte before I bought this sidewinder and they said that it would work with either motor type. if you use a sensored motor, you do not connect the sensor wire to anything.

I discovered the problem. One of the solder joints in the connector between the esc and motor was really loose. I resoldered this and the motor worked great.

thanks for your help,
tim
Fantastic news to me!
Tired Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Castle Creations Appreciation Thread TeckLancer Electric On-Road 2 08-12-2008 03:16 AM
FS: Castle Creations Sidewinder with Mamba 5700 Brushless setup with Castle Link salteen R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 06-24-2008 06:51 AM
castle creations Mamba BL ESC and Trinity cobalt "B" BL motor , castle link USB vintagetamiya R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 01-14-2008 05:25 PM
Castle Creations Mamba Max paul73rc Australia Wanted to Buy 6 01-04-2008 03:41 PM
FS: Castle Creations Mamba Max ESC Mustangz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 12-16-2007 07:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:48 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net