R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions

Like Tree3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-11-2009, 04:24 PM   #1936
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 17
Default Sidewinder green light flashing and no power- help

Hi,

I'm running with Sidewinder ESC with a VXL motor. When I recently transferred the system from my Slash to my Losi truck, the truck seems to have no power. The throttle cuts out and the green light flashes at full throttle. I've tried a couple different batteries with no change. Reprogramming the ESC with full throttle on the controller while switching on the ESC has not helped. Any feedback on this problem is appreciated.
azdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 04:53 PM   #1937
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 398
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default Sidewinder problems

Hi,

I have my Sidewinder on a Traxxas Slash and I am using the VXL motor instead of the castle motor because I read that the Slash was too heavy for the castle motors and that the larger magnet in the VXL handled the weight better. Anyway, I had no problems hooking up and programming my ESC, the test run went great - the only problems was throwing the tires off of my beadloc rims I ran it a few more times after that, over the next couple of days. I have been very gentle with it and it hasn't seen any overheating, water, crashes, etc.



The other day I was running it around for a bit and then it just stopped and wouldn't responf to throttle. I checked the temp and it was warm, but not hot - same with the motor. The yellow light was blinking and the steering worked, but no response from throttle or brake. I knew I still had quite a bit of juice in my Tenergy 4200 7cell hump pack, but I figured my transmitter (stock traxxas) was getting low on batts and that was the issue. I switched to rechargable AAs in my transmitter a few days later and went to run the truck again yesterday.



Now the blinking yellow light steering is all I get from the ESC. I can't enter programming mode, it doesn't sound any tones when I turn it on or flash any lights other than yellow. I have tried playing with my transmitter settings (trim, servo reverse, etc.) and checking all the connections, but I still have no luck - just a blinking yellow light and steering.



As I said above, I have played with this alot trying to get it to work with different settings on the transmitter. There have been brief periods on two occasions when the ESC did sound some tones and act like it was receiving the signal, but when I attempted to calibrate it, I couldnt get it to respond correctly. I turned it off to try again with my servo reversed and still had problems calibrating - at times it seemed like it was going to work, then wouldn't. After trying this a few times it went back to the yellow light and I cant get anything else but yellow light and steering - no tones from the motor, no lights other than flashing yellow, wont enter programming mode.



PLEASE HELP I really like the castle product, but it is frustrating to see it acting up. Hopefully it can just be reset or something. I know I didnt damage it and it was working great at first. I have seen other postings with similiar issues and they seem to have been resolved but dont describe how.



Thanks,

Mike
mr.madman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 03:46 AM   #1938
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 180
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by azdriver View Post
Hi,

I'm running with Sidewinder ESC with a VXL motor. When I recently transferred the system from my Slash to my Losi truck, the truck seems to have no power. The throttle cuts out and the green light flashes at full throttle. I've tried a couple different batteries with no change. Reprogramming the ESC with full throttle on the controller while switching on the ESC has not helped. Any feedback on this problem is appreciated.
Try turning up the endpoints on the radio then reprogram. If it is moving and the light is flashing at full throttle it means that is not getting to full throttle. Mine has done this sometimes, I have had to program it a couple of times to get it right. Turn the brake up also and if you have too much brake turn the brake down on the ESC with the program and fine tune it at the track with the radio endpoint. I think I am running ~30 % brake on the computer.

Make sure that you got in the programming mode for the ESC I have seen several people have trouble getting the ESC to set until they get used to the way it sets to the radio
plumslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 09:08 AM   #1939
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by plumslow View Post
Try turning up the endpoints on the radio then reprogram. If it is moving and the light is flashing at full throttle it means that is not getting to full throttle.
Make sure that you got in the programming mode for the ESC I have seen several people have trouble getting the ESC to set until they get used to the way it sets to the radio
+1 plumslow
The MambaMax is the same ......What works for me is to have my transmitter on the throttle endpoint screen before I start the ESC's setup. That way I can bump up my end point until I get the ring tone's. The thing I like about the MM's setup is you can take your time, it will wait for you to set your transmeter to it thats cool !!!
I did a setup for a guy and nether of us new how to use his transmitter, I started the setup and I think it took me 5 min. to find his EPA and the ESC waited for us all that time. You just have to hold the throttle down until you find and move the EPA.

Last edited by Lazer Guy; 04-12-2009 at 01:07 PM.
Lazer Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 06:13 PM   #1940
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sluggoman View Post
I run the Sidewinder 5700 on my xxx-t cr. I'm running temps around 190+ with a 16 pinion, 86 spur on a loamy track. I'm worried about these temps. I have all the speed I need but can't keep the temps down. Anyone have suggestions?
I need some help getting my temps down. I tried going down to 14 pinion, and now I'm over 200.

What's odd is that I have another almost identical truck, but with the MM and 5700, and it's staying at 150-160 tops, mostly much lower.

Someone at my track suggested going the other way with the pinion...go bigger, and the motor won't work as hard for the same speed. Ran even hotter.

Someone want to get me some ideas, other than gearing, to bring temps down. And a final ruling on which way to go on gearing would be great. Thanks in advance for your help!
sluggoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 07:15 AM   #1941
Tech Master
 
rockstar81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,029
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Just got back my MMM that Castle warrantied for me and I just wanted to say thanks for the service, excellent turnaround time, and just overall a good customer service experience. Thanks Phil
__________________
Dee & Mee Hobbies, Team Academy SBV2, Xray 009, Xray 007, Castle Creations, Spektrum DX3R, Ricky Racer Customz, Tekin, Thunder Power, Duratrax Onyx,
rockstar81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 08:41 AM   #1942
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,506
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sluggoman View Post
I need some help getting my temps down. I tried going down to 14 pinion, and now I'm over 200.

What's odd is that I have another almost identical truck, but with the MM and 5700, and it's staying at 150-160 tops, mostly much lower.

Someone at my track suggested going the other way with the pinion...go bigger, and the motor won't work as hard for the same speed. Ran even hotter.

Someone want to get me some ideas, other than gearing, to bring temps down. And a final ruling on which way to go on gearing would be great. Thanks in advance for your help!
What timing are you running? id try turing the timing down if your running any
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/Tekin/Sweep Racing/RSD/180 Raceway/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid/Sanwa
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 07:10 PM   #1943
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
What timing are you running? id try turing the timing down if your running any
I'm running default (2). I'll try the low setting.
sluggoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 07:12 PM   #1944
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 119
Default

How do you hook a sidewinder to a computer? I heard there is a way, but no place to put in the computer cord.
sluggoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 10:24 PM   #1945
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 40
Default Sidewinder on 4 cell nimh pack?

Does anyone know if there are any future plans for the sidewinder to work on a rc12l4 carpet racer with a 4 cell nimh 4600 pack and 19 turn brushed motor?
cobracoupe5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 11:09 PM   #1946
Tech Master
 
rockstar81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,029
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sluggoman View Post
How do you hook a sidewinder to a computer? I heard there is a way, but no place to put in the computer cord.
You would need this http://www.castlecreations.com/produ...stle_link.html it hooks onto your receiver plug.
__________________
Dee & Mee Hobbies, Team Academy SBV2, Xray 009, Xray 007, Castle Creations, Spektrum DX3R, Ricky Racer Customz, Tekin, Thunder Power, Duratrax Onyx,
rockstar81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 10:47 AM   #1947
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,143
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cobracoupe5 View Post
Does anyone know if there are any future plans for the sidewinder to work on a rc12l4 carpet racer with a 4 cell nimh 4600 pack and 19 turn brushed motor?
I'm pretty sure it can work but the wiring is setup a little differently. If Joe sees this maybe he can help refresh my memory. I was going to run my MM in 4 cell and he told me once how to do it but I forget.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 12:33 PM   #1948
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyd View Post
I'm pretty sure it can work but the wiring is setup a little differently. If Joe sees this maybe he can help refresh my memory. I was going to run my MM in 4 cell and he told me once how to do it but I forget.
If possible, can you have him post a wiring diagram?
cobracoupe5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 01:16 PM   #1949
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,143
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cobracoupe5 View Post
If possible, can you have him post a wiring diagram?
I think it has to do with one of the servo wires needed cut and then solder it inline with the positive battery wire. Send Joe Ford an email at Castle. You might be able to call Castle and ask for someone in Tech Support to find out as well.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 10:08 PM   #1950
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 40
Default JUNK SIDEWINDER JUNK SIDEWINDER

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyd View Post
I think it has to do with one of the servo wires needed cut and then solder it inline with the positive battery wire. Send Joe Ford an email at Castle. You might be able to call Castle and ask for someone in Tech Support to find out as well.
I talked to someone at tech support and at first he seemed to be very helpful. So, as instructed, I purchase a 4700uf electrolytic capacitor and *&#^er rig some wiring for it to still not work. When I called back again, the tech support consisted more of "Our product is better than everybody else's, maybe it's your receiver, well your radio seems to be the problem, or it must be your batteries, instead of actual helpful information. So......to make a long story short, I have a 4 day old piece of $75 junk that can't even run a 19t brushed motor. Everybody at my local track was making fun of me saying that's why no one here runs them because those sidewinder's are nothing but trouble. I guess they were right. Tonight I'll be ordering a LRP esc since those work as described.


!!!!!!!!!BUYERS BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!! The saying "You get what you pay for" always seems to be true!
cobracoupe5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Castle Creations Appreciation Thread TeckLancer Electric On-Road 2 08-12-2008 03:16 AM
FS: Castle Creations Sidewinder with Mamba 5700 Brushless setup with Castle Link salteen R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 06-24-2008 06:51 AM
castle creations Mamba BL ESC and Trinity cobalt "B" BL motor , castle link USB vintagetamiya R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 01-14-2008 05:25 PM
Castle Creations Mamba Max paul73rc Australia Wanted to Buy 6 01-04-2008 03:41 PM
FS: Castle Creations Mamba Max ESC Mustangz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 12-16-2007 07:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:05 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net