Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions
Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread! >

Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread!

Like Tree3Likes

Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread!

Old 02-23-2009, 08:54 PM
  #1861  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks drperry. I guess what I was trying to get across was I realize on power there is less weight up there and it should steer easier, but before I converted this truck to brushless it was nitro, same steering servo ( Hitec 5997TG) which is rated at 132 @4.8volts or 181 @ 6 volts for torque and it had plenty of power to turn wheels off power. Maybe this BEC does not put out 6 volts, I have no idea. That would make sense though. I just put a new JRZ9100T in it to see if that makes a difference. So far it seems to. SO maybe the BEC is only around 4.8 volts in the ESC?? This new servo puts out 300oz/in at 4.8 volts.

IT just seems weird that the older Hitec, even going at lower speeds would not turn the wheels all the way over. It just felt like a power issue from the ESC. I will keep testing different set ups to see.

Thanks for the response!!
crossover is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 09:24 PM
  #1862  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
drperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 1,222
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by crossover
Thanks drperry. I guess what I was trying to get across was I realize on power there is less weight up there and it should steer easier, but before I converted this truck to brushless it was nitro, same steering servo ( Hitec 5997TG) which is rated at 132 @4.8volts or 181 @ 6 volts for torque and it had plenty of power to turn wheels off power. Maybe this BEC does not put out 6 volts, I have no idea. That would make sense though. I just put a new JRZ9100T in it to see if that makes a difference. So far it seems to. SO maybe the BEC is only around 4.8 volts in the ESC?? This new servo puts out 300oz/in at 4.8 volts.

IT just seems weird that the older Hitec, even going at lower speeds would not turn the wheels all the way over. It just felt like a power issue from the ESC. I will keep testing different set ups to see.

Thanks for the response!!
The BEC probably runs at 5 volts, like my Mamba Max. but it depends on the amperage the servo needs to pull... Try an RX pack, with the red wire from the ESC disconnected.
drperry is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 10:29 AM
  #1863  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks DrPerry!! I figured it might be a lighter voltage going through there causing the servo to feel weaker. Maybe I will try a separate battery pack for that, hate the extra weight though, these brushless conversions already weigh a TON when you put a monster battery in it.
crossover is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 12:20 PM
  #1864  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
drperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 1,222
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

If the RX pack DOES fix the problem, you can always get a CC BEC and make sure it's set to 6 volts... It's good for 10 amps, so it will have no problems at all turning your servo.
drperry is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 08:47 AM
  #1865  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Default

Thought you guys would enjoy this. My RC8 conversion. Neu-Castle 1517 1800kv motor, 6s 30C lipo, 24/44 gearing...run for 10 min then shut down...don't want to push the motor too hard yet. Not sure if it will handle a full run without going over max...we'll see.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iLwJD9DQ7FU
Joe Ford is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 05:19 AM
  #1866  
Registered User
iTrader: (20)
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

simply ridiculous! tire makers are going to love you guys at castle

R
UltegraSTI is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 01:58 PM
  #1867  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Default

Yep, that's the only downside to putting that much power into a buggy...I got 6 runs on those tires (Proline Badlands). Oh well...the price of fun I guess. Even on the onroad tires don't last long.
Joe Ford is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 03:06 PM
  #1868  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Default

Big news guys!!!

ALL, yes ALL, CM36 motors are now ROAR legal in modified classes!!! That includes not only the re-buildable motors we're working on, but also the ones that you've currently got in your rides!!! TELL EVERYONE YOU KNOW!!!!
Joe Ford is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 10:17 PM
  #1869  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Joe that thing is crazy. The dog better pray it never get hit at full blast as he don't stand a chance.
wyd is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 01:47 AM
  #1870  
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

Originally Posted by Joe Ford
Big news guys!!!

ALL, yes ALL, CM36 motors are now ROAR legal in modified classes!!! That includes not only the re-buildable motors we're working on, but also the ones that you've currently got in your rides!!! TELL EVERYONE YOU KNOW!!!!
Great News!!! Joe, could you give us some info about the re-buildable motors you're working on? When do you think you'll release them?
Born2Run is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 06:44 AM
  #1871  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Joe Ford
Big news guys!!!

That includes not only the re-buildable motors we're working on, TELL EVERYONE YOU KNOW!!!!
WHY re-buildable ????????????? I have 4 years on my 7700 and 3 years on my 4600 and I've never even oiled the bearings, there still fast as hell.
Is there any reason I should take the motors I have now apart ????
To me re-buildable implies that I will have to.

Last edited by Lazer Guy; 03-10-2009 at 06:59 AM.
Lazer Guy is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 01:47 PM
  #1872  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 374
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Joe, when do you think the new rebuildable motors will be ready? im searching for a new motor, & need it to be rebuildable...

Lazer Guy - i like rebuildable for the fact i can service/maintain the inards, shim the rotor correctly, check/oil/replace bearings, check rotor, etc...
Drift Demon is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 07:27 PM
  #1873  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Lazer Guy
WHY re-buildable ????????????? I have 4 years on my 7700 and 3 years on my 4600 and I've never even oiled the bearings, there still fast as hell.
Is there any reason I should take the motors I have now apart ????
To me re-buildable implies that I will have to.
You don't have to do anymore work on them. The tear apart motor is part of the ROAR requirement.
wyd is offline  
Old 03-10-2009, 11:08 PM
  #1874  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
drperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 1,222
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The occasional bearing replacement will be really nice for those that run in adverse weather conditions...

Otherwise, not gonna notice a lot of difference...
drperry is offline  
Old 03-11-2009, 07:53 AM
  #1875  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Default

Originally Posted by wyd
You don't have to do anymore work on them. The tear apart motor is part of the ROAR requirement.
What Brian said. The only reason we're making them re-buildable was that is one of ROARs requirements. They've grandfathered in our non-re-buildable motors too which totally rocks, and we thank them big time for that...helps out our customers (and r/c'ers in general) a LOT.

Drift Demon...we've got prototypes right now. NO clue when they'll be released. They're not even in the hands of anyone outside Castle right now, and probably won't be for a good while. LOTS of testing needs to be done...
Joe Ford is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.