Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road > Team and Company Discussions
Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread! >

Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread!

Like Tree3Likes

Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread!

Old 07-08-2008, 06:54 AM
  #1531  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stickman310
Hi,
Do sidewinder ESC's run sensored motors fine?
I bought one a while ago but haven't gotten around to using it yet. I know this question has been asked on here before but I just couldn't remember what the answer was.

Thanks.
It won't run them perfectly. It will run them but during initial take off from a dead stop it will cogg. Some not as bad as others but it will cogg some.
wyd is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 07:34 AM
  #1532  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
stickman310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Townsville, QLD (TMORC)
Posts: 869
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Is it worth the price of a second hand 10.5 to try it out? I probably won't be racing but will it just suck or still be enjoyable?

P.S. What turns will it be able to handle down to?

Thanks.
stickman310 is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 03:13 PM
  #1533  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stickman310
Is it worth the price of a second hand 10.5 to try it out? I probably won't be racing but will it just suck or still be enjoyable?

P.S. What turns will it be able to handle down to?

Thanks.
Should be able to run down to about a 7.5. If you can get one cheap enough you can make it work decent. You will need to mess around with the settings on the Castle Link.

I ran a 13.5 and it did hesitate off the starts but once I was rolling it was fine. It is normally only on initial start up but once moving not a problem.

Also the better the batteries the better it will be for you to ge the car moving quicker.
wyd is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 03:17 PM
  #1534  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 374
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Does the sidewinder have an adjustable throttle/brake curve? if so im sure there is a way to alter the curves to reduce/eliminate cogging.

Also, i know this sounds a bit weird, but does the sidewinder have the ability to go down to previous firmware versions? I was running my 7.5 vortex with MM on 1.09 for quite some time, no hassles or dramas with it, only recently have i upgraded to the new firmware, I can slightly notice a difference between the 2 with the vortex. But yeah, another suggestion would be if cogging is occuring, move down to previous firmware version to see if it makes a difference. It would also be wise to fit cc bullet connectors on the motor wires, so the wires can be changed around, can help with cogging.
Drift Demon is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 03:25 PM
  #1535  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Drift Demon
Does the sidewinder have an adjustable throttle/brake curve? if so im sure there is a way to alter the curves to reduce/eliminate cogging.

Also, i know this sounds a bit weird, but does the sidewinder have the ability to go down to previous firmware versions? I was running my 7.5 vortex with MM on 1.09 for quite some time, no hassles or dramas with it, only recently have i upgraded to the new firmware, I can slightly notice a difference between the 2 with the vortex. But yeah, another suggestion would be if cogging is occuring, move down to previous firmware version to see if it makes a difference. It would also be wise to fit cc bullet connectors on the motor wires, so the wires can be changed around, can help with cogging.
Castle Link does have adjustable throttle curves but I doubt it will change the cogging issue. I don't think you can go down in firmware but to be honest the new versions are better
wyd is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 11:41 PM
  #1536  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
stickman310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Townsville, QLD (TMORC)
Posts: 869
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I don't have a castle link. Would you be able to help me on what i can do to reduce the cogging without the castle link?
stickman310 is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 11:53 PM
  #1537  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
t9dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,197
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stickman310
I don't have a castle link. Would you be able to help me on what i can do to reduce the cogging without the castle link?

You really need to buy the Castle Link, so that you would be able to update the firmware on the ESC.
t9dragon is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 02:52 AM
  #1538  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
stickman310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Townsville, QLD (TMORC)
Posts: 869
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Hey t9dragon haven't seen you for a while man
Getting the castle link kind of isn't an option for me because I don't think there is anywhere in Australia that sells them and postage prices are too huge for getting something like that overseas.
I'll just be driving with a friend of mine when we have time anyway so I shouldn't need to be too fussy with take-off cogging. If you know of any ways to reduce it that would be great but otherwise I guess I'll just have to stick with the slight cogging.
Maybe one day if I'm making a big order from somewhere overseas that sells them I'll pick one up.
stickman310 is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 05:40 AM
  #1539  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Well since you can manulally setup the Sidewinder you would have to go thru the program setup and try different timing setups and different start power setups to see what works best. Castle link is just alot faster to change settings and more precise.
wyd is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 07:20 AM
  #1540  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
stickman310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Townsville, QLD (TMORC)
Posts: 869
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

OK thanks for the help all I have to do now is find a good motor for a good price
stickman310 is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 11:53 AM
  #1541  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Super_Roo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stickman310
Getting the castle link kind of isn't an option for me because I don't think there is anywhere in Australia that sells them and postage prices are too huge for getting something like that overseas.
There are plenty of hobby shops that sell the Castle Link in Australia. When I got mine 3 or 4 years ago the LHS didnt have one but got it in for me in 2 days.
Super_Roo is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 12:57 PM
  #1542  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Super_Roo
There are plenty of hobby shops that sell the Castle Link in Australia. When I got mine 3 or 4 years ago the LHS didnt have one but got it in for me in 2 days.
Plus some shops might have Castle Link already setup to help customers. I know are shop does and will help guys setup the system if they don't have access to a computer.
wyd is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 04:10 PM
  #1543  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
stickman310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Townsville, QLD (TMORC)
Posts: 869
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I think I'm the only person in my club to have ever even touched a castle creations product lol. Everyone seems to think Novak's the only way to go.
Super Roo how much did it end up costing you? I'll ring my LHS later and check if they are able to get them in.
stickman310 is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 07:38 AM
  #1544  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Super_Roo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stickman310
I think I'm the only person in my club to have ever even touched a castle creations product lol. Everyone seems to think Novak's the only way to go.
Super Roo how much did it end up costing you? I'll ring my LHS later and check if they are able to get them in.
Thats because everyone in your club are so far behind the times.

Your LHS should be able to get them from Model Engines. I got mine about 3 or 4 years ago for 40 bucks.
Super_Roo is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 08:02 PM
  #1545  
Tech Master
iTrader: (32)
 
VenturaDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ventura, SoCal
Posts: 1,133
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Can a sidewinder be wired up for high power brushed running? wired it up per the drivers ed book for the mamba and car doesnt work right, in the settings mode it wont let me get to option 9 which is to set brushed mode, any help would be great.
VenturaDC is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.