Axiom Motors

Reply

Old 04-02-2006, 10:37 PM
  #361  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (45)
 
dgullickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I'm a Dork Fish
Posts: 7,662
Trader Rating: 45 (96%+)
Default

Axiom is now is the UK with our Distributor Smart Racing. If you are in the UK please support them:

http://www.smartracing.co.uk/

We have just sent them quite a huge inventory of stuff and more to come...
dgullickson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 09:43 AM
  #362  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 732
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Dave,

I was just about to buy a bushing reamer for my motors but I just read that EddieO doesn't ream bushings. What is your take (or anyone elses) on reaming bushings. I will post what he said. Thanks
AChupp2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 09:53 AM
  #363  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (45)
 
dgullickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I'm a Dork Fish
Posts: 7,662
Trader Rating: 45 (96%+)
Default

I agree with EddieO on not doing it and in my opinion its a waste of time.. We dont do it at all.. Your better off just polishing the shaft on the Arm.. A motor that has been broken in properly will have the bushings broken in from normal wear..

I dont suggest it at all. Infact your more than likely to do it wrong and have to replace your bushings which is gonna cost you more money and time.
dgullickson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 09:54 AM
  #364  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 579
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default reaming

I've only had (1) motor that had the bushings reamed. Did not like it. I used a drill press and jig to make sure it was straight, but it made the hole too large. the arm "vibrated" under certain rpm's and I'm SURE that cause a backlash not allowing the motor to run as it should. I just polish the arm and that's it.
acyrier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 09:57 AM
  #365  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 732
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Your wasting your time....don't ream the bushings...I don't do it....

Later EddieO

If yer going to do anything, just polish the arm.....and then lube really well...

We don't polish or ream the bushings anymore....

Why? Reaming isn't something thats EASY....in fact, your 99% more likely to do it incorrectly than to do it right....and even if you do it correctly, I still don't think it does anything worth a crap....

Polishing the bushings would be better in my mind......but it has the fatal flaw, that the bushings are very very pourous, so you can never get all the polishing compound residue out of the bushing....

A properly broke in motor will have the bushings broken in by normal wear.....just make sure they are fully seated in the holes before running the motor the first time.....

As for results.....not a single of the stock titles or tqs in the signature below had the bushings reamed or polished....so if we can do it at a national race against some of the best in the world, I am pretty sure you will be just fine at your local club race or two day event.

Later EddieO



This is what he had to say about the topic. Does anyone replace bushings?
AChupp2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 10:08 AM
  #366  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 732
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

How and what are you using to polish the shaft.
AChupp2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 10:17 AM
  #367  
Company Representative
iTrader: (14)
 
Tres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

http://www.motortuningsecrets.com/tunestockmotor.html

Toothpaste works as does Mothers or any other chrome polish...

Be sure and CLEAN it VERY!!!VERY!!!VERY!!!! well after you polish it.
If you don't it will keep polishing the shaft and bushing as you run the motor...

Both will be junk then.
Tres is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 10:20 AM
  #368  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 1,260
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

do you sell just motor tubes i saw them as an option to add to buying motors but didn't see any just individual tubes
HenBeav is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 10:38 AM
  #369  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (45)
 
dgullickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I'm a Dork Fish
Posts: 7,662
Trader Rating: 45 (96%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AChupp2
How and what are you using to polish the shaft.

I use Blue Magic.. Or you can get some Jewelers Ruge (not sure I spelled right)
dgullickson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 10:40 AM
  #370  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (45)
 
dgullickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I'm a Dork Fish
Posts: 7,662
Trader Rating: 45 (96%+)
Default

Originally Posted by HenBeav
do you sell just motor tubes i saw them as an option to add to buying motors but didn't see any just individual tubes

I started adding that as an option and was playing with the idea as some dont like getting the extra pair of brushes.

I tried ordering 1000 motor tubes and the guy insisted on me getting a sample first - whatever. Anyways got the sample - wow its a tube - and they are on order. Oh and he sends me a pink one for a sample. Any takers
dgullickson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 11:13 AM
  #371  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 732
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Will you be selling Checkpoint motors
AChupp2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 11:22 AM
  #372  
Registered User
 
Hackatack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 141
Default

i like using Brasso it seems to be the easiest and fastest IMO

it seems to wipe clean and havent had any problems with residue in my motors... Allso after just a few passes my bushings look like a mirror you could brush your hair in

good luck
Hackatack is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 11:31 AM
  #373  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (45)
 
dgullickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I'm a Dork Fish
Posts: 7,662
Trader Rating: 45 (96%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AChupp2
Will you be selling Checkpoint motors

Working on that.. All I can say at this point
dgullickson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 11:34 AM
  #374  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 732
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

It will be a month or so until I need any motors but I will keep looking and hope you get some
AChupp2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 11:42 AM
  #375  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
Jimmy Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,238
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dgullickson
I started adding that as an option and was playing with the idea as some dont like getting the extra pair of brushes.

I tried ordering 1000 motor tubes and the guy insisted on me getting a sample first - whatever. Anyways got the sample - wow its a tube - and they are on order. Oh and he sends me a pink one for a sample. Any takers



YES!!!!
Jimmy Morris is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service