R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Singapore R/C Racers (https://www.rctech.net/forum/singapore-r-c-racers-22/)
-   -   Charger.... (https://www.rctech.net/forum/singapore-r-c-racers/5953-charger.html)

bigbutstupid 06-20-2002 07:07 PM

Charger....

what do i look out for if i wanna get a second hand charger?
as i'm quite new to electric cars..
i would like to know whether a good charger is a MUST or not..
or will thoese slow charger work fine....

if i do get a good charger... then lets say i bring it to the track... then where is the source of my power?
is it those "real" car batts?

sorry for my ignorance as these questions sound weird

ijnek 06-20-2002 09:53 PM

ur questions are exactly my concern when i started out Rc with my buddy and we were both wonder abt wat u are thinking abt now.

normally at the races,power outlet will b provided for u to connect up ur charger.if u wan 2 play RC serious,then a quality charger is a must.

chargers can be divided into 2 main group depending on the power supply needed.AC and DC.
AC:
u will jus need 2 plug up to the wall power outlet,the charger will do everything and normally,the DC recetifier is built-in.

DC:
u will need a power supply 4 this depending on the charger specification.

different chargers have different functions,so u have 2 do ur research well...

one of the better charger around at this moment is the novak millienium pro which can charge both NI-MH and NI-CD and can charge,discharge and also condition the batt...

as 4 the car batts,some chargers are veri 'hungry' and need a bigger power batt 2 power them.an example is the KO BX213M.i know bcos i have it... :...(

a gd charger can also decrease ur charger time from several hours to jus 1/2 hour.so i consider it a gd buy 2 have a gd charger.

bigbutstupid 06-20-2002 10:26 PM

thanks ijneck
how much does one novak mellinium pro cost?

bigbutstupid 06-21-2002 01:35 AM

heard about the turbo 30 and turbo 35 charger