R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > International Forums > Singapore R/C Racers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-11-2009, 10:39 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
yoggyong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,815
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default Need help on AE SC10

Hey guys! Need a little advise here. I was helping a fren building a new FT SC10. And now I got stuck as I couldn't get the pin in for the rear wheels. I've tried freezing the pin while using lighter to heat up the UJ but still cant get it in. Can any SC10 users help me out on this?? Thx guys!
Attached Thumbnails
Need help on AE SC10-cimg4101.jpg   Need help on AE SC10-cimg4102.jpg  
yoggyong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 04:52 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Teinsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: F1's 1st Night Race
Posts: 3,250
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoggyong View Post
Hey guys! Need a little advise here. I was helping a fren building a new FT SC10. And now I got stuck as I couldn't get the pin in for the rear wheels. I've tried freezing the pin while using lighter to heat up the UJ but still cant get it in. Can any SC10 users help me out on this?? Thx guys!
bro, what i usually do is to dab a little grease and knock the roll pin in bit by bit. Takes a little patience tho. Btw, is there a FT SC10 released???
__________________
Engineered for Peace, Marvel Togetherness ~~~

Peak at the right time ....
Teinsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 10:53 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
yoggyong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,815
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teinsports View Post
bro, what i usually do is to dab a little grease and knock the roll pin in bit by bit. Takes a little patience tho. Btw, is there a FT SC10 released???
Hahaha.. Sorry. the box never state. But becos all the arms, chassis all carbon composite. So I just assumed shld be FT stuffs.. But now I have prob taking one pin out whc was half way in. Damn!!
yoggyong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 11:40 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Teinsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: F1's 1st Night Race
Posts: 3,250
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoggyong View Post
Hahaha.. Sorry. the box never state. But becos all the arms, chassis all carbon composite. So I just assumed shld be FT stuffs.. But now I have prob taking one pin out whc was half way in. Damn!!
No lah, the stock SC10 parts aren't made of carbon. You should see the diff when placed alongside a FT T4/B4.
__________________
Engineered for Peace, Marvel Togetherness ~~~

Peak at the right time ....
Teinsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 03:01 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
yoggyong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,815
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teinsports View Post
No lah, the stock SC10 parts aren't made of carbon. You should see the diff when placed alongside a FT T4/B4.
No leh.. The box did state the chassis was a composite one. Not plastic. I've seen a plastic B4 chassis and the composite one. So I'm pretty sure its composite chassis and arms. The bumpers are plastics.
yoggyong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 03:47 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
roychan69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 8,205
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to roychan69 Send a message via Yahoo to roychan69 Send a message via Skype™ to roychan69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoggyong View Post
Hahaha.. Sorry. the box never state. But becos all the arms, chassis all carbon composite. So I just assumed shld be FT stuffs.. But now I have prob taking one pin out whc was half way in. Damn!!
Ah Youyi, should drill and make the hole slightly bigger for the pin to slot in;
don't knock it in, it'll stuck...

A hole which is small is small, a pin cannot fit in will not fit in...
Unless you're David Copperfield...
roychan69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 06:42 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Teinsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: F1's 1st Night Race
Posts: 3,250
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roychan69 View Post
Ah Youyi, should drill and make the hole slightly bigger for the pin to slot in;
don't knock it in, it'll stuck...

A hole which is small is small, a pin cannot fit in will not fit in...
Unless you're David Copperfield...
The hole is meant to be a tight fit and imho should not be drilled bigger. The roll pin will fit in and out, just takes a little more patience. This is a common 'challenge' of running AE/Losi cars.

Youyi, you can try getting the HPI 10x1.5mm pins, they should fit perfect w/o any hassles.
__________________
Engineered for Peace, Marvel Togetherness ~~~

Peak at the right time ....
Teinsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 06:43 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Evil Ernie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 349
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoggyong View Post
Hey guys! Need a little advise here. I was helping a fren building a new FT SC10. And now I got stuck as I couldn't get the pin in for the rear wheels. I've tried freezing the pin while using lighter to heat up the UJ but still cant get it in. Can any SC10 users help me out on this?? Thx guys!
yoggyong,

Had the same issue when i built my FT T4.Them roll pins are pain to put in..but here's wat i do..

Roll pins arent solid pins unlike some other pins we put on before we put our wheel hexes.Plus its diameter is smaller and tamiya pins ( or what ever type ) wont fit.

So u need to decide whether to keep or replace them.

If want to keep - try to get them out first ( coz its stuck in there rite?..hehe).Once out, use a big pair of pliers to slightly compress the pin throughout its length..keyword is SLOWLY..slowly compress the pin to make the diameter smaller...once down it shld fit the hole..

If wan to replace - go to taising n get the solid pins...hpi part ..dunno the part no tho.Its slightly shorter than the roll pins..but it shld get the job done.
diameter 2mm if not wrong..

alternatively,

If u a wrench monkey like me n some other ppl i know...cut off a body clip and put it thru..shd work too.

regards
EE
__________________
M04 | TL01M | RS4 Mini Pro | ABC Hobby Genetic | ABC Hobby Gambado | ABC Hobby Goose | TN05 Mini | Wild One | FF03 Pro | TTG Frog | RB 5 SP
Evil Ernie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 06:46 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Teinsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: F1's 1st Night Race
Posts: 3,250
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Ernie View Post
yoggyong,

If wan to replace - go to taising n get the solid pins...hpi part ..dunno the part no tho.Its slightly shorter than the roll pins..but it shld get the job done.
diameter 2mm if not wrong..
yo Ernie, never get pins shorter than the kit ones as they will strip the wheel more easily. BC has gotten the 10x1.5mm solid pins and they fit perfect BUT they don't stay when the wheel is out so the choice is yours.....
__________________
Engineered for Peace, Marvel Togetherness ~~~

Peak at the right time ....
Teinsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 07:06 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Ivan Hng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 953
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoggyong View Post
Hey guys! Need a little advise here. I was helping a fren building a new FT SC10. And now I got stuck as I couldn't get the pin in for the rear wheels. I've tried freezing the pin while using lighter to heat up the UJ but still cant get it in. Can any SC10 users help me out on this?? Thx guys!
We all do respect the fact your are helping your friend build the kit. But you ought to get your fat-ass friend to do something for you also! LOL!

P.S. I know who asked you to build the kit for him....
Ivan Hng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 07:14 AM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Maikaitan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

the hole should not be drilled bigger.. it takes a little patience to have the pin in... first, it must fit straight.. second, the pin's end are tapered... if they are knicked or dinged, they'll not fit in properly...

i'll use a vise and press it in...

and there's no FT kit for the SC10 that i know of...
__________________
HobbyThingzBlk 201-E, Tampines Street 23, #01-118, Singapore 520201. Tel: 65-67828311, HP: 65-97465015. www.hobbythingz.com, [email protected]
Regional Sole Distributor for Team Associated, Orbit Electronics, J Concept and PolyButler. Dealer for Tamiya, Kyosho, GS, Proline, Byron, Os Engines, RB, Futaba, Sanwa, KO.....
Please note that we are closed every Tuesday and P.Holiday. Hours are: 12pm-9pm.
Maikaitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 09:29 AM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Suzukee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 585
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Yes yoggyong, the guys are right. This happened to myself and others who're new to Losi and AE cars.
The pins here are hollow, not like those from Tamiya or Hpi. These are meant to be squeezed in, and stay tight. I also not too used to having a pin stucked in the axle, but guess that's how they are meant to be for Losi and AE.

If you're using the stock wheels, try to fill up the wells beside the roll pin slots with epoxy or set screws.
For my truck, I only installed 1 shim behind that blue spacer. Manual showed 2 shims, but I figured 1 shim will allow the roll pin to sit deeper into the wheel, minimising the famous damage caused by the pin overpowering the pin slot.
Suzukee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 03:09 PM   #13
Tech Champion
 
roychan69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 8,205
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to roychan69 Send a message via Yahoo to roychan69 Send a message via Skype™ to roychan69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teinsports View Post
The hole is meant to be a tight fit and imho should not be drilled bigger. The roll pin will fit in and out, just takes a little more patience. This is a common 'challenge' of running AE/Losi cars.

Youyi, you can try getting the HPI 10x1.5mm pins, they should fit perfect w/o any hassles.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Ernie View Post
yoggyong,

Had the same issue when i built my FT T4.Them roll pins are pain to put in..but here's wat i do..

Roll pins arent solid pins unlike some other pins we put on before we put our wheel hexes.Plus its diameter is smaller and tamiya pins ( or what ever type ) wont fit.

So u need to decide whether to keep or replace them.

If want to keep - try to get them out first ( coz its stuck in there rite?..hehe).Once out, use a big pair of pliers to slightly compress the pin throughout its length..keyword is SLOWLY..slowly compress the pin to make the diameter smaller...once down it shld fit the hole..

If wan to replace - go to taising n get the solid pins...hpi part ..dunno the part no tho.Its slightly shorter than the roll pins..but it shld get the job done.
diameter 2mm if not wrong..

alternatively,

If u a wrench monkey like me n some other ppl i know...cut off a body clip and put it thru..shd work too.

regards
EE
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maikaitan View Post
the hole should not be drilled bigger.. it takes a little patience to have the pin in... first, it must fit straight.. second, the pin's end are tapered... if they are knicked or dinged, they'll not fit in properly...

i'll use a vise and press it in...

and there's no FT kit for the SC10 that i know of...
Looks like I was too fond of 'drilling holes'... 'and 'drill and made them bigger'...
roychan69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 12:10 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
yoggyong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,815
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys, thx for all ur replies.. I'll try to get the "rod" in the "hole" soon!! Mayb getting some fresh flowers and a little teasing might work..

Keep u guys updated den! Thx!!
yoggyong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 05:07 AM   #15
Tech Champion
 
roychan69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 8,205
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to roychan69 Send a message via Yahoo to roychan69 Send a message via Skype™ to roychan69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoggyong View Post
Hey guys, thx for all ur replies.. I'll try to get the "rod" in the "hole" soon!! Mayb getting some fresh flowers and a little teasing might work..

Keep u guys updated den! Thx!!
Dude, you'll need cash and cash; not flowers and teasing...

And please don't update us as we don't want to know...
roychan69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SC10 vs SLASH ??? tell us what you think...Honestly fat500 Electric Off-Road 302 03-26-2016 10:27 PM
SC10 Thread JDCrow Electric Off-Road 12123 05-29-2012 05:40 PM
SC10 problem need help ASAP Leroy1234p Electric Off-Road 14 12-25-2009 07:19 AM
SC10?!? trdsupra88 Electric Off-Road 926 07-20-2009 01:29 PM
Slash RTR or SC10 RTR Moogumby Rookie Zone 12 06-01-2009 12:52 PM
slash / sc10 class evoving gweed Electric Off-Road 680 04-29-2009 01:30 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:16 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net