Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > International Forums > Singapore R/C Racers
Newbies Queries - Ask and you shall be answered! >

Newbies Queries - Ask and you shall be answered!

Like Tree1Likes

Newbies Queries - Ask and you shall be answered!

Old 10-29-2009, 12:52 AM
  #3706  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (7)
 
roychan69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 8,206
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by donnod
hi guys,

anyone knows the correct procedure for breaking in engine?
guys pls advice...currently i'm using rb tj9......
thx
It's better you check on the U Tube 'RC - How to broke in new engine'...

Better still; get an experienced person who is good at nitro engines, together to help you at the track.
roychan69 is offline  
Old 10-30-2009, 12:54 AM
  #3707  
Tech Rookie
 
alantan_74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 19
Default

Originally Posted by roychan69
Hello Alan.

1. Yes, you can weld back your pipe's stinger if it is bent or broke off.
Make sure you only use aluminum filler rod to MIG (Metal Inert Gas - Argon) weld.

2. Possible, just change the shocks to a shorter ones; to lower the CG (Centre of Gravity) and get a set of Truggy tires instead of using those big monster tires.

Hope it helps.

1) Hi,do you know anyplace that can weld or..
2) juz change e shock n tire only? shock tower and arm dun need har??


Tks a million bros..
alantan_74 is offline  
Old 10-30-2009, 01:37 AM
  #3708  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (7)
 
roychan69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 8,206
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by alantan_74
1) Hi,do you know anyplace that can weld or..
2) juz change e shock n tire only? shock tower and arm dun need har??


Tks a million bros..
1. Any smaller companies doing engineering works; and if they have TIG weldings (Argon Weld) they can do the job. Try places like Eunos Industrial Park etc..

2. Shock Tower no need to change. So long you've changed to a shorter shocks, or the advice below, the CG is lowered.

*Cheaper alternative: Replace the shock shafts to shorter ones, or you can cut a section of fuel tubing about 0.5 - 1" and slot it in your shock shaft (inside the shock, not outside) to achieve a so call 'Droop'. It's basically like replacing with a shorter shock shaft.

So... You owe me 2 million now...??
roychan69 is offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 09:10 AM
  #3709  
Tech Adept
 
ben_xraynt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: sembawang, Singapore
Posts: 157
Default

Originally Posted by donnod
hi guys,

anyone knows the correct procedure for breaking in engine?
guys pls advice...currently i'm using rb tj9......
thx
on road engine or off road.
just head down to pa track on sunday , and im sure guys there will gladly give u a big helping hand bro.

roy is right u could check the youtube for some info on the how.....
cheers and enjoy the hobby......
ben_xraynt1 is offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 09:19 AM
  #3710  
Tech Adept
 
ben_xraynt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: sembawang, Singapore
Posts: 157
Default

Originally Posted by donnod
hi guys,

currently i'm looking for a gp 1/10 car with less hop ups and less maintainance....my budget is around 800.which car falls under my criteria? izit serpent, mugen, edam, nt1 or g4rs?
and also, what is tx and rx? (i'm a newbie by the way)

thnx
so wat kit have u bought?
800 incl kit, engine , tx , rx , starter box , glow starter , and electronics?
these are wat u need to get started bro.
coz dun think u can get all with that budget unless maybe those rtr gp kit....
ben_xraynt1 is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 01:12 AM
  #3711  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Originally Posted by ben_xraynt1
on road engine or off road.
just head down to pa track on sunday , and im sure guys there will gladly give u a big helping hand bro.

roy is right u could check the youtube for some info on the how.....
cheers and enjoy the hobby......
its on road......by the way i found this website on how to break in engine,it says {NEW SCHOOL METHOD}, it teaches u how to break in the new way...it seems that this method goes agaisnt the old skool method..bro plz check this site.....from ur experienced, does this werk?
donnod is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 01:18 AM
  #3712  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Originally Posted by donnod
its on road......by the way i found this website on how to break in engine,it says {NEW SCHOOL METHOD}, it teaches u how to break in the new way...it seems that this method goes agaisnt the old skool method..bro plz check this site.....from ur experienced, does this werk?
i cant list down the add here as i'm new to this forum.....u can go to yahoo search engine and type how to break in rc engine and u look for NEW SCHOOL METHOD......
donnod is offline  
Old 11-03-2009, 01:31 AM
  #3713  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Originally Posted by ben_xraynt1
so wat kit have u bought?
800 incl kit, engine , tx , rx , starter box , glow starter , and electronics?
these are wat u need to get started bro.
coz dun think u can get all with that budget unless maybe those rtr gp kit....
nope, actually 800 budget is only for the kit itself....by the way i bought serpent 733 and rb touring junior 9...not still 'reckiiing' on the electronics and tx and rx.bro,can advise me wat type of tx and rx and also electronics is worth buying....
currently wat car are u using? by the way where is pa track? izit the one at east coast?
donnod is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 12:28 AM
  #3714  
Tech Rookie
 
alantan_74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 19
Default Servo for monster truck 1/8

Hi, Anyone can advice which n wat servo to use for monster 1/8.Must at least hw many KG..

Tks
alantan_74 is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 01:01 AM
  #3715  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (7)
 
roychan69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 8,206
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by alantan_74
Hi, Anyone can advice which n wat servo to use for monster 1/8.Must at least hw many KG..

Tks

Use at least 16kg servo for your MT steering, i.e. Futaba 9351 or BLS352

I used BLS352 for my Savage X.

Last edited by roychan69; 11-04-2009 at 06:15 AM.
roychan69 is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 02:03 AM
  #3716  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (10)
 
adrictan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,234
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by alantan_74
Hi, Anyone can advice which n wat servo to use for monster 1/8.Must at least hw many KG..

Tks
If u have deep pockets, order in a JR High Torque servo. Z9100HVT or Z9100T. Backed by 3yrs warranty. I have a Z9100T on my truggy.
adrictan is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 06:18 AM
  #3717  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (7)
 
roychan69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 8,206
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by adrictan
If u have deep pockets, order in a JR High Torque servo. Z9100HVT or Z9100T. Backed by 3yrs warranty. I have a Z9100T on my truggy.
It's a little expensive for him I believed; he should be... er... quite new to this hobby, use Futaba or Hitec (much cheaper and he can get the 24kg strength servo...)
roychan69 is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 06:31 PM
  #3718  
Tech Rookie
 
alantan_74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 19
Default

Originally Posted by roychan69
It's a little expensive for him I believed; he should be... er... quite new to this hobby, use Futaba or Hitec (much cheaper and he can get the 24kg strength servo...)
Tks everyone..Notice someone selling Towerpro servo 14/15kg.. is it good enuff?
alantan_74 is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 06:56 PM
  #3719  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (7)
 
roychan69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 8,206
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by alantan_74
Tks everyone..Notice someone selling Towerpro servo 14/15kg.. is it good enuff?
Similar to Ace or Thunder Tiger; can be use since you're not racing.
roychan69 is offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 10:20 PM
  #3720  
Tech Rookie
 
alantan_74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 19
Default

Originally Posted by roychan69
Similar to Ace or Thunder Tiger; can be use since you're not racing.
Tks.. Think i will get that as long is gt e power to turn e sterring..
alantan_74 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.