Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > International Forums > Singapore R/C Racers
Newbies Queries - Ask and you shall be answered! >

Newbies Queries - Ask and you shall be answered!

Like Tree1Likes

Newbies Queries - Ask and you shall be answered!

Old 01-24-2007, 10:07 PM
  #1651  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Hi,

I am a newbie of MRE, just want to ask Q about the change of roll center:

If I add some shims (eg. 1mm) below the Rear suspension mounts (both in the rear), then the roll center will change, right? Then what happen to the rear traction if I add more to lift up the rear suspension mounts? The car will has more / less roll at the rear??? More grip at the rear??

Thanks in advance!
coolsteel is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 01:29 PM
  #1652  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 593
Default Rx Tx

Hello all!

I am new to RC! I would like to know about Rx Tx. For instance, how do I prevent frequency clash with another racer? Is it a matter of changing crystals? Or do I just have to press some button on my Rx to resolve the problem? I am currently using Megatech 2PL, but would like to know if I should upgrade to 3PK and those high-end ones.

Also I would like to have on the fly 4WS for my future monster truck. What features must the Rx Tx have such that I can have on-the-fly 4WS?

Is there any resource where I can find all about Rx Tx?

Thanks!
compression911 is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 04:28 PM
  #1653  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
overtki11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: founding member of THE "like to post BIG BIG pictures in the Off Topic, Special Interest Group".
Posts: 8,132
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by benjigoh
hi, recently i tried to power up my gp car which has not been running for a couple of yrs but the reciever cant seem to start. i try to narrow down the problem by first charging the batt for a few hrs. can feel the batt to be warm so i guess current is going throught the batt. still cant work. could it be the switch faulty or the receiver faulty? is there a way to test? i don hav any spare switch nor revciever. is there a way to narrow down to the cause further? thanks for the help.
i suggest you bring everything down to a hobbyshop to let the owner or peeps there have a look see....could be a number of problems....if you bring it down to winnies, make sure its during office hours...not after work coz thats when she quite busy...i'm sure she'll help you out, if she can't she'll ask her regulars there....very friendly, not intimidating atmosphere there....then if you need to replace say a switch or whatnot, you can get one on the spot to end your "pain"...

opps, just saw the date of this post....haha..i sure hope you manage to sort you problem out already dude.....
overtki11 is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 05:29 PM
  #1654  
Tech Elite
 
dodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the archipelago
Posts: 3,095
Default

Originally Posted by compression911
Hello all!

I am new to RC! I would like to know about Rx Tx. For instance, how do I prevent frequency clash with another racer? Is it a matter of changing crystals? Or do I just have to press some button on my Rx to resolve the problem? I am currently using Megatech 2PL, but would like to know if I should upgrade to 3PK and those high-end ones.

Also I would like to have on the fly 4WS for my future monster truck. What features must the Rx Tx have such that I can have on-the-fly 4WS?

Is there any resource where I can find all about Rx Tx?

Thanks!
if you are new to RC, you might want to stick to the simple one for the time being. 2PL should be enough.

To prevent frequency clash, normally the track will have a frequency board, those who wants to run their car, will write down the freq numbers. And those who come later always need to cheque the board before they even turn their Tx on. If there's a frequency clash, find the person and resolve, one of you need to change to another frequency (by changing the crystals).

alternatively, there's this spektrum technology which will eliminate frequency clash problem.
dodo is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 08:33 PM
  #1655  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 59
Default Mugen?

Where can i get the Mugen-MXT4?

I searched for Pacific Model but i couldnt find the shop at Sim Lim Square?

Btw, how much does the kit roughly cost?
Ecleftone is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 08:43 PM
  #1656  
40%
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
40%'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 527
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Ecleftone
Where can i get the Mugen-MXT4?

I searched for Pacific Model but i couldnt find the shop at Sim Lim Square?

Btw, how much does the kit roughly cost?
The shop has moved to River valley

PACIFIC MODEL (Andrew Chin) 97450212 ,
River valley road .
River valley building G-floor
40% is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 09:40 PM
  #1657  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 59
Default

Where is that? Nm, ill look it up.

Does anyone know how much the MTX 4 cost?
Ecleftone is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 04:20 AM
  #1658  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 71
Default replacement Engine

Anyone have a suggestion on a replacement engine for a VonesII? I'm thinking of buying a pullstart one. not for racing.
prgervacio is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 08:19 PM
  #1659  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default V1SII Engine.

Originally Posted by prgervacio
Anyone have a suggestion on a replacement engine for a VonesII? I'm thinking of buying a pullstart one. not for racing.
You can go to Tai Sing, they got some engine thats for normal playing cost less than $150/-
wolfman is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 04:40 AM
  #1660  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 59
Default

Where can i get Protoform body shells here in Singapore?

200mm. Whats the price like normally?
Ecleftone is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 07:06 AM
  #1661  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 59
Default

Can NIMH batteries be charged using NICD chargers?
Ecleftone is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 09:25 AM
  #1662  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Matching Batterys what to match them up by when individual getting info should i match them up by volts mah discharge time or what
TurboTounge is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 11:05 PM
  #1663  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 146
Default Starter box and Rx Batteries queries

I hv 2 queries to raise:

1. What other functions does a starter box have besides providing a rotational torque for the RC nitro car/buggy? Are there different type of starter box..beside the sizes..?


2. i'm using a AA size Duracell batteries for the RX pack.. so it's a 6V Rx pack..
How long can it last before i need to change it? and will the truggy run away if the battery is low in power? And what is the different if i change it to Nimh or Nicad? is it adviseable to change it to rechargeable and why?

Pls kindly advise and thanks in advance.
viperviper is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 11:31 PM
  #1664  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
lobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 428
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by viperviper
I hv 2 queries to raise:

1. What other functions does a starter box have besides providing a rotational torque for the RC nitro car/buggy? Are there different type of starter box..beside the sizes..?


2. i'm using a AA size Duracell batteries for the RX pack.. so it's a 6V Rx pack..
How long can it last before i need to change it? and will the truggy run away if the battery is low in power? And what is the different if i change it to Nimh or Nicad? is it adviseable to change it to rechargeable and why?

Pls kindly advise and thanks in advance.
1: No other function other than resting ur car on it after a run but you need it to start ur engines unless you use pull starter or rotor start(HPI only) there is starter box which literally is starter in a box. and there are hand held starters which as the name says, hand held. ie: the use of ur hand holder the starter replaces that of a box.

2: how long depends on how you play. most change to nimh cuz the cost is much much lower compared to keep having to buy alkaline batts. a rx batt pack costs about 30ish dollars... lasts you a really long time. do your math. 4x alkaline = $4??? use 1 sunday gone... rechargable.... use for many many sundays
lobo is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 01:09 AM
  #1665  
Tech Addict
 
dr_catman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: My baby as an embryo
Posts: 605
Default

Originally Posted by lobo
2: .......... 4x alkaline = $4??? use 1 sunday gone... rechargable.... use for many many sundays
Use only on sundy wah???
dr_catman is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.