Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Billy Kelly
  • 1 Post By Lone Drifter

Noob here, need help/reccomendations.

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2017, 07:13 PM
H22
Tech Rookie

Default Noob here, need help/reccomendations.

So, RCTech, I've really been wanting to get into RC's for a long time now, I've been building 1/24 model kits for a while now and I want to try sometging that actually moves, I've been looking at the Tamiya TT02D, but I want something that can drift and can also race with some grip tires (I don't know if this is possible). I want to know what will I need apart from a body. I'm on a budget of 200$, so nothing too professional.
Old 07-21-2017, 07:21 PM
Tech Prophet

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

That's a tough budget if racing is in plan. You'd have to find out what classes are being run.

You can make any touring car drift. Just takes practice. I've read of some places that race the Tamiya. But not in my area. Actually only seen 2 tamiya vehicle in 6 years. And 1 I briefly owned, a tt01.
H22 likes this.
Old 07-21-2017, 09:04 PM
H22
Tech Rookie

Actually I'm more focused on drifting since around here there's no on road/gt racing that I know of, so I guess I want a drift car I can grip witth occasionally.
Old 07-21-2017, 09:39 PM
Tech Prophet

Any touring car can drift. It will have limits compared to a dedicated drift car. But wit practice be suprised just how well. Going drift to road car doesn't work as well.

CS or countersteer was the choice few years ago. Front and rear tires spin at slightly different speeds. Forcing the vehicle to drift. It takes a while to get used to. But once get the feel it's fun. But it's drift only. Putting grip tires on doesn't work.

RWD, rear wheel drive has been growing in popularity over past couple years. I've tried it but never got vehicle to work. Could have been tires, surface, gyro setting, or something more. But just didn't work for me.