Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
soldering ESC wires (1/8th scale) >

soldering ESC wires (1/8th scale)

soldering ESC wires (1/8th scale)

Old 05-26-2017, 12:40 PM
Tech Apprentice

Default soldering ESC wires (1/8th scale)

Hey all,

I am new to electrics and i am converting my MP777 to electric and I purchased the HobbyWing XR8 SCT ESC. The posts on the ESC stick straight up and have kind of a half moon shaped divot on the tops. I looked at some pics and it looks like the wires get soldered so they are sticking straight up instead of a right angle with the posts, is that correct?

Also, should I put a little shrink wrap around the posts/solder joint after soldering?

thanks!
Old 05-26-2017, 01:05 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)

Originally Posted by hord1080
Hey all,

I am new to electrics and i am converting my MP777 to electric and I purchased the HobbyWing XR8 SCT ESC. The posts on the ESC stick straight up and have kind of a half moon shaped divot on the tops. I looked at some pics and it looks like the wires get soldered so they are sticking straight up instead of a right angle with the posts, is that correct?

Also, should I put a little shrink wrap around the posts/solder joint after soldering?

thanks!
You can solder the wires on any way you'd like with the xr8 as far as I know. It won't make a difference as long as the solder job is good And a little heatshrink never hurt nobody
Old 05-26-2017, 05:42 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)

Just be careful you don't unsolder the posts, lol. I had one pull out on a 1/10 Speedo, but it went right back in.
Old 05-26-2017, 07:08 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I would strongly suggest watching some videos on soldering. And to much heat/heating what you are soldering for to long of a time is bad.
Old 05-28-2017, 11:44 AM
Tech Elite