Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
HSP Short Course Questions!(motor upgrade ect) >

HSP Short Course Questions!(motor upgrade ect)

HSP Short Course Questions!(motor upgrade ect)

Old 01-17-2017, 10:42 AM
Tech Rookie

Default HSP Short Course Questions!(motor upgrade ect)

Hello, I am brand new to the hobby and recently was gifted an HSP short course 4x4 1/10 scale truck and am loving it! But I have several questions that someone may help me with as far as setting up the truck or upgrading. I will list the specs below:

RC: HSP Destrier EP Pro 94170 (2016)
Drive: 4x4
Motor: 3300kv B3650 7.2v 3.3a(unloading) 13MΩ
ESC: WP-10BL50-RTR 50a/300a .001Ω motor limit on road <=8t, off<=11t
Gearing: Ratio-1/7.195 Diff. Main=64t motor(pinion)=26t
tire size: 15502(model number)Dimensions of tire are about 9.2cm x 4 cm
Battery: 2s 3500mah 30c(bought two additional 5200mah batteries 2s)

So to get to the meat of the my question, Would I be able to get away with just upgrading my motor to achieve a speed roughly 45mph?
Everything stock, I was able to get a gps speed of around 33-36 mph and am just looking to get a little extra speed. I plan to get new gears to change the gearing but also thought about a higher kv motor, just not sure if i would have to change anythng else. Any help and any 2 cents is reatly appreciated and if you have questions about the rc, feel free to ask!
Old 01-17-2017, 11:11 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Jcbdnny
Hello, I am brand new to the hobby and recently was gifted an HSP short course 4x4 1/10 scale truck and am loving it! But I have several questions that someone may help me with as far as setting up the truck or upgrading. I will list the specs below:

RC: HSP Destrier EP Pro 94170 (2016)
Drive: 4x4
Motor: 3300kv B3650 7.2v 3.3a(unloading) 13MΩ
ESC: WP-10BL50-RTR 50a/300a .001Ω motor limit on road <=8t, off<=11t
Gearing: Ratio-1/7.195 Diff. Main=64t motor(pinion)=26t