ESC Problem

Old 12-31-2005, 08:10 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Birky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 1,668
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default ESC Problem

I think I have blown my ESC (KO Propo VFS-2000J) and would just like some ideas as to what to do.

I was down at the track yesterday and one of the guys I race with lent me a modified motor to have a go with (I normally race stock). I put the motor in and it went backwards, hence we decided to put he had put the end bell on backwards. I asked whether I could just solder the wires on the other way around rather than pull the motor apart, which I was told was ok. However we both neglected to notice the diode attached to the motor. So I tried the motor again, and blew the diode as you would expect.

I then cut the diode off the motor, and thinking everything would be ok, when out onto the track. I got a third of the way around the my first lap with a modified motor and the car just took off at full speed, launched off the track and crashed, still running at full throttle.

Someone quickly grabbed it and pulled the battery connector out. However now whenever I plug the battery in (with the ESC switched off) and motor just runs at full throttle.

So I see the opinions as being:

1. Send the ESC back for repairs.
2. Buy a new ESC

What does everyone think or do you have another possible solution.

Cheers
Ben
Birky is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 04:04 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

send it in for warranty and whilst waiting for it to come back buy another ESC, when the esc comes back sell one of them
XingXing is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 06:40 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 903
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

hey ben it got 10 points for the jump i woudl be happy if i were you
jamie814340 is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 07:08 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (60)
 
speedemall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: hagerstown,MD
Posts: 2,466
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

did u try to reprogram it?or is it self setup?
speedemall is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 07:37 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
 
BritRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 2,081
Default

its toast.Full open is the result of one of these going.

Send it to KO, Robert there usually turns them around pretty quickly.

He posts in the KO VFS-1 Forum.

I would make my decision based upon the cost of repairs, if its not under warranty.

There will be some costs, as you will need a new diode and they are $40.
BritRacer is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 12:13 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Birky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 1,668
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BritRacer
its toast.Full open is the result of one of these going.
Yeah thats what I thought. Thanks
Birky is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.