Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Complete Newbie Questions!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2016, 02:02 AM
Tech Rookie

Questions?? Complete Newbie Questions!!

Please be aware before reading this thread that some of these questions may hurt your head!

I like to think I am a quick learner, but I am completely new to all of this and want to get as much information as possible so that I don't wreck anything instantly!!

So here we go ...

I am looking at getting a HPI Racing Trophy 4.6 (Model Number: 107014) which comes out later in June.

After looking through a few different forums and sites and various videos, around the £300 mark this looks good to me (please tell me otherwise if need be!)

I am fairly technically minded and have had experience with real cars and smaller tech, so don't think I will be to scared to start fiddling.

Just wanted to find any common issues that arise with first timers and new RC's?

Also, been reading about things like After Run Oil and Air Filter Oil and wanted to know the pros and cons on running with / without.

Fuel is my next query? Any brands I should be looking out for? Pros and Cons? How much to fill up etc?

Please bear in mind I am in the UK, don't fancy importing things just yet!

Oh and HI!
Old 05-04-2016, 09:01 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

Answer you weren't expecting - I'd look at a different truck until HPI's European wings' financial situation is cleared up or they are bought out - you don't want to be waiting on a truck that may never actually arrive or if it does, parts don't follow.

I also tend to not recommend nitro cars as a first car; the line between tinkering, turning and shear frustration becomes very fine with those so I'll let someone more enthusiastic about Nitro give you pointers on getting started in that field.
Old 05-04-2016, 09:06 AM
Tech Prophet

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)