Community
Wiki Posts
Search

xxx-t problems

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2005, 09:16 PM
Tech Initiate

Thumbs down xxx-t problems

im new to r/c and i just got a xxx-t last week, now im not into raceing its just for fun ive got a few friends that have some cars and trucks we just run them together up and down the street but my truck keeps breaking ive spent more time fixing the truck than i have running it, im thirty now and havent had a real rc car since i was a kid(grasshopper) but i have had a few raidio shack cars here and there since, im easier on this thing than i ever was on any of the other cars ive owned and so far ive broken
1-left front control arm
2-front kickplate
3-lost a nut for the left front inner tie rod end
4-cracked off the retainer for the battery strap
5-cracked a tooth on the spur gear
6- and the motor keeps shifting foward

now i havent even had this truck a week yet and i only run about i battery pack a day in it, so ive used it maybe for an hour and a half

i thought these trucks were supposed to be good, whats going on here? i have to say im very dissapointed, do you think the hobby shop would take it back?
Old 12-12-2005, 09:47 PM
Tech Master

Make sure you use threadlock on all the nuts and bolts, and keep your gear mesh set good. Not to loose, but enough to get good solid contact with the teeth. Too tight and it will bind and bleed off speed and power. The battery strap may have been caused by a wire in the way of the battery, so when you pushed down on the strap to put the pin in the battery could have been sitting on the plug and pushed back a bit too hard. Control arms are a weak spot on many stadium trucks...get the stiffer graphite ones from the Matt Francis truck.