Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Need assistance with RC LiPo Batteries. >

Need assistance with RC LiPo Batteries.

Need assistance with RC LiPo Batteries.

Old 09-20-2015, 01:10 AM
Tech Rookie

Talking Need assistance with RC LiPo Batteries.

So I'm new to LiPo Batteries and I have some questions regarding their setup/maintenance/usage

Discharging is the process of lowering the cells 'charge' right?
So what effect does this have and why would you do it? Does that decrease the 'voltage' or the 'mAH'?

Am I right in thinking that as you are using the battery in an RC vehicle, you are effectively discharging it by decreasing the voltage?
And if the voltage is decreasing the performance is decreasing because you have less volts?

Wait...If you are 'discharing' a battery, are you are decreasing the mAH left on the battery or are you decreasing the voltage..or both..? What? Because I read 'capacity determines how long you can run before you have to recharge' but does that mean recharge the 'mAH' or the 'voltage'?
Old 09-20-2015, 02:03 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)

Originally Posted by AstroCoder123
So I'm new to LiPo Batteries and I have some questions regarding their setup/maintenance/usage

Discharging is the process of lowering the cells 'charge' right?
So what effect does this have and why would you do it? Does that decrease the 'voltage' or the 'mAH'?
The voltage, the total amount of Mah capable stays the same.
Am I right in thinking that as you are using the battery in an RC vehicle, you are effectively discharging it by decreasing the voltage?
And if the voltage is decreasing the performance is decreasing because you have less volts?
Not at all. When you crank you're real car to start it, you are removing voltage from the battery. The longer you crank the engine, the slower the starter rotates< non lipo battery