Need advice

Old 08-25-2015, 11:32 PM
Tech Rookie

Red face Need advice

Hello everyone,
So I apologize in advance as this is yet another post about a newbie who doesn't know what car to buy. I'm just so overwhelmed by this whole new world that I need a little personal advice. So here goes.

I recently have become really interested in RC cars. In my research, I've come to find that I really like the look of the off-road trucks (the Traxxas Slasher and the like come to mind) and I would, at this point, use it almost solely for bashing. It would also be nice to have a single car where I can start, learn the basics and the controls, and then upgrade it quickly and cheaply, if possible, to a stronger, faster version. In my research I saw a few comments about a truck that has a 50% option?

Beyond that though, I really don't know what would be best for what I want. I'm completely new to RC cars (although I have done quite a bit of tinkering with other hobbies) so when it comes to gas vs. electric (from my reading I've determined nitro probably isn't for me, although I could be wrong in this), 2x vs. 4x, etc. I'm stumped. I just know I want a car that will allow me to ease in but also really go once I'm in.

Im also a bit worried just because of my lack of experience. I know nothing about RC cars and don't know anyone who does so I'd hate to sink a ton of money into something only to have it sit in my garage because I'm not experienced enough to fix it. Any thoughts on that? Has that been an issue for anyone?

Thank you all very much
Old 08-25-2015, 11:55 PM
Tech Rookie

If you are considering a short course truck like the slash, but want something that you can grow with, I would highly suggest you skip traxxas and go strait to a race quality kit from the get go. If you want 4 wheel drive, you should consider a Losi SCTE or a tekno 410. These can usually be had used for cheap, but I understand if you want to go new.