Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Newbie here looking for help.... >

Newbie here looking for help....

Newbie here looking for help....

Old 06-19-2015, 04:24 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Newbie here looking for help....

I live in Ohio and me and the wife have talked about my 14yr old and I getting in to the sport. We have yet to make any purchases, so Im here looking for advice/direction. We will be looking to start off with dirt track.

PLEASE ADVISE and it is ok to text or email me.... [email protected] or 513-804-8044.

Thanks
Old 06-20-2015, 04:31 PM
Tech Fanatic

I'll assume you want to start racing. Find the track you want to race at. Go on a race day and ask questions, 95% of racers will give you honest answers. Start with something with a good brand. Losi, Teckno, Associated. Find yourself a good RC shop, they will hook you up. I would suggest a 1/10 scale something....buggy or short course truck. Find out at your track what they race. Example : You don't want to pick up a 4wd buggy when they only race 2 wd. You might want to start off with something used even. But stay a little on the slow side.

Today I went to my bashers track and someone started asking me about my 1/8 scale and said he wanted to buy one. I could tell he was novice so I let him drive my buggy if he promised to take it easy. He did. He gave me back my radio and said that I was right that this car is a bit too advanced for him.

But hey, it's your money.

PS> I know of many really good rc shops in the Detroit area if you are around Toledo
Old 06-20-2015, 07:30 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Thanks....

Hopefully someone from southern Ohio sees this and can help...
Old 06-29-2015, 10:51 AM
Tech Adept