Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
HPI RS4 Starting Trouble >

HPI RS4 Starting Trouble

HPI RS4 Starting Trouble

Old 02-10-2015, 07:47 AM
Tech Initiate

Questions?? HPI RS4 Starting Trouble

Im new to nitro and im having trouble getting my evo3 started. I get it to rev up for a split second then shuts off. Ive been adjusted the needles and cant seem to dial it in to stay running. So can anyone diagnose which needle I should adjust when having the problem of it reving up for a split second. Thanks guys.
Old 02-10-2015, 04:27 PM
Tech Elite

Originally Posted by Spleen
Im new to nitro and im having trouble getting my evo3 started. I get it to rev up for a split second then shuts off. Ive been adjusted the needles and cant seem to dial it in to stay running. So can anyone diagnose which needle I should adjust when having the problem of it reving up for a split second. Thanks guys.
First... Determine if it stalled because it is too rich. This is often easy to note if the second time you try it starts again then stalls. Or.. If you remove the plug and fuel sprays out. A good mix isnt wet and there shouldnt be visible signs of fuel when turning over without a plug

Then there's the engine itself, it may have shagged bearings, worn conrod, no compression. This isnt something you can tune to.

So... to get a safe idle...

First set your IDLE gap to 1mm not more.
Then set your servo trims and install rubber band to carby from top needle to keep it closed.
Then richen the top needle HSN two WHOLE turns counter (it will make sense later)
Remove and check your plug is healthy
While plug remove turn oiver engine to clear any floods

Now... * Without ANY throttle applied!

1) Replace plug
2) Try to start it
3) If it starts and then stalls shortly after close clockwise LSN 1/4 turn, remove plug, turn over to clear flood and go back to 1)