Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Which lipo battery/charger should I get? >

Which lipo battery/charger should I get?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Which lipo battery/charger should I get?

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2014, 01:25 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Which lipo battery/charger should I get?

Hi, I am fairly new to RC (2 cars), and I am going to buy the Apache C1 Flux as my third car.
It doesn't include a battery, so I was wondering if you could give me some suggestions or even tips.

Thanks a bunch
Old 09-14-2014, 10:37 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)

What are your other two cars? Do you have experience dealing with Lipos safely?

If you're looking for bashing, I can recommend SPC batteries: http://www.spcracingbatteries.com

If you want something for more serious and/or track use, SMC is great: http://www.smc-racing.net
Old 09-15-2014, 05:43 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)

Lipos are not scary, you just need to follow the rules... which most often is to get long life out of them down the road.

However I did advise a noob the other day not to use his nihm charger on his new 3S lipo for his merv. He will wait until his next paycheck now and get a proper charger.

But really.. simple rules to be happy:

1 - right charger
2 - only use the functions "balance" and "storage" for a lipo
3 - if you are putting it up for the next day or two "storage" charge it
4 - use an ESC with Low Voltage Cutoff to prevent running it down too low
5 - do not damage or short the lipo, and do not get it hot like leave it in a parked car all day.
Old 09-15-2014, 06:07 AM
Suspended

Trader Rating: 115 (100%+)

Originally Posted by lbenton
Lipos are not scary, you just need to follow the rules... which most often is to get long life out of them down the road.

However I did advise a noob the other day not to use his nihm charger on his new 3S lipo for his merv. He will wait until his next paycheck now and get a proper charger.