Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
I got a Question. >

I got a Question.

I got a Question.

Old 08-26-2005, 11:12 AM
Tech Initiate

Default I got a Question.

Allright im new to this hobby.. i traded alot my spare Goped parts for a nitro truck... it needed new steering servo so i bought one... and some other misc items... now when i try to start the engine it starts up for bout 5 secs then dies.. like theres no fuel getting to the engine... and when i put my finger on the muffler the fuel goes threw... but like said it only runs for both 5 secs mabey more then dies... What should i do???

Can u clean out the carb with carb cleaner? or u got use somethin special for that too?

thanks,
NS[]D[]RT
Old 08-26-2005, 12:49 PM
Tech Master

Check the tank and filler. If there are any broken seals, or air leaks try fixing them with silicon sealant. If your engine seems to be running lean, then most likely it's your fuel tubing. Replacing the fuel tubing is both cheap, and important. A micro sized hole can cause erratic engine operation and overlean mixtures. Another part that's worth a look it the backplate. Make sure the backplate is secured correctly, and that there are no air leaks. If you do ifnd an air leak, reach for the silicon sealant. Check around the carb for air leaks as well, again, minor amounts of sealant will get the job done. DO NOT use a "liberal" amount of sealant. An engine is meant to compress only air, not sealant. Make sure none of the sealant gets into the crankcase or carb.