Community
Wiki Posts
Search

New to R/C. Need help with Losi XXXT Matt Francis Build

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2014, 11:09 AM
Tech Rookie

Default New to R/C. Need help with Losi XXXT Matt Francis Build

I am a rookie here at the R/C stuff so sorry in advance for all the questions. I used to be into R/C cars when I was younger and I have a Losi XXXT MF edition that I let sit at a friends house for about a decade. I just picked it up and want to do a rebuild but so much has changed over the years that I am unfamiliar with the new technology. If anyone could give their input on some of the questions that I have that would be greatly appreciated!

I am looking for a real solid brushless system that I won't get bored of after the first couple weeks, but at the same time isn't too overkill. I understand that the higher the kv rating the more top speed/less acceleration and the higher turn less top speed/more acceleration, so I was curious as to what a good balance would be? I have a Futaba 2PL controller and am most likely going to need a new receiver. I remember the servo's that I used before always use to break too, so if anyone could weigh in on a good receiver and digital servo with metal gears that would be sweet. I'll obviously be in the market for a LiPo battery and charger as well.

Any recommendations on these parts and anything else my car might need after sitting for a decade would awesome! I really want to get this thing rippin' again
Old 05-15-2014, 02:40 PM
Tech Champion

Assuming like motors are being compared, a higher kv (or lower turn) motor will have more acceleration, not less. Yes the motor will have slightly less torque (at low RPMs only), but the same motor should be geared lower, smaller pinion. Thus will have more power and acceleration at all speeds.