Search

Maintenance Schedule

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2014, 06:36 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Maintenance Schedule

Hello,

I am new to RC and have gotten into racing which I love but I have limited knowledge of RC vehicles to be honest. I am learning but all my stuff is new and has been running fairly well and I hope to keep them that way.

My question is about general maintenance, I know it all depends on how you drive, the track conditions etc. I am just looking for general guidelines or a basic rule of thumb so I can set up a schedule. Hopefully it will help me keep some of my parts longer and spare me from running my trucks into the ground and breaking parts and learning the hard way that I should have been cleaning, lubricating etc.

So here are my general questions and if I am missing anything (which I am 99% sure I am please feel free to toss in any additional parts or suggestions).

Shock Oil - Generally how many hours / races should I change the oil

Clean Bearing by removing rubber seals and re-lubricating - Generally how many hours / races

Disassemble and Clean Brushless Motors - Generally how many hours / races

Differential Oil - Generally how many hours / races

I hope no one puts as needed b/c again I am a newbie and I am not great with identifying sounds or different feels of the truck until something really breaks. I watch a ton of youtube videos and try to do as much research as possible but I figured I would toss out this question and see if any experienced RC racers can shed some light on this for me.

I race on an indoor clay surface and then outdoor clay surface that is kind of sandy in my opinion. I believe the outdoor surface requires a lot more maintenance and cleaning since the fine grains get into everything. It got under my Velineon ESC on and off button and broke it so I am hoping to avoid things like that with routine maintenance.

Some additional information -

I have a