Wiki Posts
Search

Traxxas Stampede

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2014, 06:33 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default Traxxas Stampede

Was running my Stampede around the yard and it just stopped. I picked it up and pulled the throttle, the motor still goes and the wheels turned but when I put the car back down (with it's weight) it won't move forward. I'm new to this but it sounds like the tranny? Like something is not connecting and providing full power. Tranny?
Old 04-24-2014, 06:48 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Make sure your slipper clutch is tight.
Old 04-24-2014, 07:50 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)

Take the cover off the spur/pinion gear and hold the spur gear in place while trying to roll the car forward (no power to it if you value your fingerprints).

That will tell you real quick if the slipper is loose like Hoese37 mentioned. I put odds on that at about 95+%

Less likely but could be the pinion had the grub screw back out a bit or the rotor debonded (if it is brushless).
Old 04-25-2014, 06:43 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)

As the suggestions above mention, you basically need to walk through the driveline to see what is either broken or slipping. Start with the spur/pinion, make sure they mesh well, make sure all is tight. Then go from there. Transmission gears, outdrives, etc. But like was said, probably the slipper or the pinion/spur.
Old 04-25-2014, 07:02 PM
Tech Regular

Thanks guys. I found a nice video on youtube on the slipping clutch. It was pretty easy (taking off, making sure the pin was lined up). Unfortuantely that didn't seem to work. I tightened everything back and the spur/pinion gear i think i have good mesh. Anyway, same result. When i hit the throttle, the motor fires nicely and the tires move but something is slipping. When I sit the car back down, pull the throttle it won't move. Should I dive into taking the transmission out?
Old 04-25-2014, 07:55 PM
Tech Elite