Wiki Posts
Search

A total newbie need help

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2014, 11:29 PM
Tech Rookie

Default A total newbie need help

Dear all,

I am really stuck! I need your help. I am new to the lipo world as I have always used nitro, but made the decision to go with batteries. I got stuck first as which charger and power supply to buy but then managed. Now after I got the batteries, the balance charger and power supply I am anxious to go ahead and charge the batteries. Why you wonder! I have no idea what the setting I am supposed to enter into the balance charger, and therefore I need your help. Anything would be appreciated.
So
I have two 4s 6500 mAh 70C batteries. I have a turnigy charger capable of 200W in two different ports. And I have a 540W power supply. So when I turned the charger on it asked me for different setting that I was clueless about. I need specific help on how to put the right settings to charger the batteries efficiently and safely.
First there are different modes on the charger:
LiPo charge
LiPo balance
LiPo fast charge
LiPo storage
LiPo discharge
I know the one I am supposed to use is charge since I am trying to charge.
Then it ask for two thing:
number of amps and voltage(1s,2s,3s...)
I know that I have to set the voltage to 14.8V for my battery, but what is the number of amps? is it the amps that I have on my battery which is 6500mAh? = 6.5A?
Do I have to set any of the other settings ?and what should the inputs be?
Please any help would be good! I cannot wait to use the RC car and all is left for me is to know how to charge the battery.

Thank you in advance
Old 01-29-2014, 11:41 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)

Lipo Charge, 4s, 6.5 amps

or

Lipo Balance, 4s, 6.5 amps

Some batteries are rated at a 2c charge rate. That would mean you charge them at 13 amps. It only charges the lipo faster. 1c or in your case 6.5 amps is always safe.