Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Servo Question >

Servo Question

Servo Question

Old 08-02-2002, 10:33 PM
Tech Regular

Default Servo Question

I'm a rookie and this is a stupid question but bare with me.
I want to know the difference between High torque servos and High speed servos. which are better and worth the money. I am looking for a servo that turns fast! I don't like the speed of my stock servo. does that mean i should get a high speed servo? but then what about high torque! confused here! please help.
thanks
Old 08-02-2002, 10:45 PM
Tech Master

high torque is mostly used on 1/8th scale and nitro cars....high speed is best for 1/10th touring
Old 08-04-2002, 08:39 PM
Tech Regular

ok Thanks. i was just wondering. so do you think i should use a high speed servo on a HPI Pro 3?
Old 08-05-2002, 12:26 AM
Tech Elite

Yes, high speed is definately the way to go for 1/10 scale electric, as the load applied to the servo isn't nearly as high as that on a larger, heavier car.

If you can afford it, a digital servo is a great investment. Digital servos are unmatched for centering ability, that is, they always center perfectly.
Old 08-21-2002, 10:12 PM
Tech Regular

THERE IS A DIFFERENCE, high speed is for cars and race trucks (witch dont require a lot of torq). Like lets say for instance, The T-maxx, you would need torq, cuz the T-Maxx has big tires and a lot of work is done. Now if you have a touring car get speed, cuz you have small tires and no real work is needed by the servo. Torq servos are run anywhere from $50- $100. Speed servos are about the same. The torq servos have about the speed as a stock servo. There are servos out there that have both Torq and speed. JR has em, Airtronics,Futaba but there prices are around $150-$170. That should solve your problem.
Old 08-23-2002, 02:32 AM
Tech Initiate