NEW to On-Road RC >

NEW to On-Road RC

NEW to On-Road RC

Old 10-10-2013, 06:13 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default NEW to On-Road RC

Hi

I am new to the RC world and I am wanting to purchase a 1/10th Electric On-Road RC either Touring Car or F1. What is better to start off with 2WD or 4WD? Any advice or suggestions as to what I should look at buying in regard to Brand, Model, Motor and Electronics? It doesn't have to be fast as I will be learning with this car, if I can upgrade it down the track to make it a little more competitive when I do look at racing that would be great also.
Old 10-11-2013, 04:52 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)

Try not to get sucked into buying everything cheap from the beginning, you will end up spending more money in the end. I like tamiya cars a lot. A ta06 pro or ta04 pro would both be good for a beginner.

Motors and electronics, lrp, reedy, novak, tekin, viper, hacker, team epic/trinity, hobbywing, and Orion are some of the good brands to look into.
Old 10-11-2013, 07:31 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)

Good advice Panda. I would just open it up to quality name brand cars.

Used quality cars are better than buying a new ready to run (RTR). RTR cars are very limited to tuning and the quality isn't there.
Old 10-11-2013, 12:40 PM
Tech Initiate

some other car brands for you are Xray, serpent, team associated, tamiya, hotbodies, and schumacher but that last one is a little funky I will say you get what you pay for.
Old 10-11-2013, 08:01 PM
Tech Adept

OK thanks so much for the advice. I will look around and do some research.

I am currently looking at a Xray T3 '12 chassis would this be OK for what I am wanting to do?

I also managed to buy a orion Neon 3280Kv 17turn Brushless motor and Orion Vortex R10 ESC. Is this ok for TC to start with?