Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
how much mah do i need? 1/10 tc >

how much mah do i need? 1/10 tc

how much mah do i need? 1/10 tc

Old 10-09-2013, 04:03 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 13
Default how much mah do i need? 1/10 tc

Hi again. This forum has been so helpfull so i feel free to throw out another question
Im looking at turnigy 2s lipos, this will be my first time with lipos.
How much mah do i need? Ive been looking at 5600mah 50-100c.
Im planning to drive mostly outside on a asphalt track with a 8.5t and 6.5t motor.
Im totally new with onroad driving. Im only driven a slash 2wd before.

Thanks
/Fille
Fille_SWE is offline  
Old 10-09-2013, 05:30 AM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (68)
 
ThePanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,201
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Since you probably have had no other rc experience, you will find a mod tc frustrating to drive. Start in a slower class and build up skills bofore you start in mod. As for batteries smc are very good but i dont know if they are available in sweenden. Otherwise those turnigy lipos will work fine.
ThePanda is offline  
Old 10-09-2013, 06:04 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (48)
 
lbenton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fort Worth Tx
Posts: 2,127
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Some motors out there have swappable stators, this will allow you to in effect get two motors on the cheap allowing you the choice of speed or more controllable.
lbenton is offline  
Old 10-09-2013, 06:32 AM
  #4  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (68)
 
ThePanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,201
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lbenton
Some motors out there have swappable stators, this will allow you to in effect get two motors on the cheap allowing you the choice of speed or more controllable.
Some places wont let you race with different stators and rotors in the motor cans, even if you state that you are using them.
ThePanda is offline  
Old 10-09-2013, 07:01 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (71)
 
klaymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,330
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Fille_SWE
Hi again. This forum has been so helpfull so i feel free to throw out another question
Im looking at turnigy 2s lipos, this will be my first time with lipos.
How much mah do i need? Ive been looking at 5600mah 50-100c.
Im planning to drive mostly outside on a asphalt track with a 8.5t and 6.5t motor.
Im totally new with onroad driving. Im only driven a slash 2wd before.

Thanks
/Fille
That battery should be plenty.
klaymon is offline  
Old 10-09-2013, 07:33 AM
  #6  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
EricW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Meriden, Ct
Posts: 1,939
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Fille_SWE
Hi again. This forum has been so helpfull so i feel free to throw out another question
Im looking at turnigy 2s lipos, this will be my first time with lipos.
How much mah do i need? Ive been looking at 5600mah 50-100c.
Im planning to drive mostly outside on a asphalt track with a 8.5t and 6.5t motor.
Im totally new with onroad driving. Im only driven a slash 2wd before.

Thanks
/Fille
Thatís a lot of motor for someone just starting out in TC, like the other guy said I recommend dialing it back and start with something lower. To answer your question though, those batteries will be more than enough.
EricW is offline  
Old 10-09-2013, 08:04 AM
  #7  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks for the help!
Im not going to start racing, just practicing, atleast the first year.
Ok i have some 17.5t motors but i thought that they would be to slow outdoors on a bigger track.
I also have a 6.5t already. Ive got them all when i bought a used xray t3 2011.
Anyway im pleased to see that those lipos will be enough.
Would it be better starting with a 10.5t motor?
Fille_SWE is offline  
Old 10-09-2013, 08:29 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (71)
 
klaymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,330
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

You will be surprised how fast a properly setup 17.5 system is. Obviously do what you want, but TC is NOTHING like a Slash.
klaymon is offline  
Old 10-09-2013, 09:32 AM
  #9  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
EricW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Meriden, Ct
Posts: 1,939
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Fille_SWE
Thanks for the help!
Im not going to start racing, just practicing, atleast the first year.
Ok i have some 17.5t motors but i thought that they would be to slow outdoors on a bigger track.
I also have a 6.5t already. Ive got them all when i bought a used xray t3 2011.
Anyway im pleased to see that those lipos will be enough.
Would it be better starting with a 10.5t motor?
Throw a 17.5 in there to start, arms on a TC aren’t going to stand up you driving it in to a wall like a Slash will. Also, don’t wait a year to practice, if you want to hit the track a few times on your own to practice that's great. However, if you truly do plan on racing at some point the best practice is actually doing it.

And remember, when racing, slow is fast.

My son hates when I say that but it’s true.
EricW is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.