Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Losing Top Speed >

Losing Top Speed

Losing Top Speed

Old 10-07-2013, 02:15 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 158
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Losing Top Speed

Setup: Traxxas Slash XL5 with Titan 12T motor

Hi everyone,

Seems like that my Slash is not as fast as it used to be. I even re-programmed it to make sure it's not in training mode, used various batteries (3000 mah, 4200, 5000). No change in speed.

I am wondering if the motor is going bad. Is there a test to find out if the motor is going bad?

Thanks.
yonpds is offline  
Old 10-07-2013, 02:40 PM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (21)
 
MarkA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 9,161
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

If you've ran it enough to wonder if the motor is going, the motor is probably going, especially as you've changed batteries, etc. The brushed motors just don't last all that long unfortunately.

If you look into the vent slots in the motor towards the top/wired end, you should see a circular gold-ish colored piece called the commutator. If it is blackened where the brushes hit it, what you could try is to get some motor spray and hose down the brushes/commutator area via the holes just below the endbell but that would only be a very temporary fix. The Traxxas brushed motors are otherwise entirely a disposable part.
MarkA is offline  
Old 10-07-2013, 02:59 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (24)
 
KAWIDAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Oviedo, Fl
Posts: 626
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Just a quick thought-if your motor is almost toast, traxxas has a trade in deal where you can get some credit for your xl5 setup towards the Velineon setup or even couple other setups I belive.
KAWIDAD is offline  
Old 10-08-2013, 05:20 AM
  #4  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (68)
 
ThePanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,201
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KAWIDAD
Just a quick thought-if your motor is almost toast, traxxas has a trade in deal where you can get some credit for your xl5 setup towards the Velineon setup or even couple other setups I belive.
They do have one of those... Get the mamba monster
ThePanda is offline  
Old 10-08-2013, 10:14 AM
  #5  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 158
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Thanks everyone! Further troubleshooting found that the motor is going bad. Swapped it out with a brand new XL5 Titan 12T and saw a big difference.
yonpds is offline  
Old 10-09-2013, 04:09 PM
  #6  
Suspended
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cali
Posts: 4,003
Trader Rating: 11 (92%+)
Default

U will want to go brushless soon, cause judging by your sig u have a few of those, and replacing that many motors will get costly real quick lol good luck
theblitzkidd is offline  
Old 10-09-2013, 10:54 PM
  #7  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 158
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by theblitzkidd
U will want to go brushless soon, cause judging by your sig u have a few of those, and replacing that many motors will get costly real quick lol good luck
Definitely true. I'm actually looking for a brushless system for the Rustler.
yonpds is offline  
Old 10-10-2013, 05:29 AM
  #8  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (68)
 
ThePanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,201
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by yonpds
Definitely true. I'm actually looking for a brushless system for the Rustler.
Look into castle and viper unsensored systems.
ThePanda is offline  
Old 10-10-2013, 09:33 AM
  #9  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (21)
 
MarkA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 9,161
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Because the Rustler is 2wd, a sensorsed system will be much more driveable. Unsensored would be fine for the Slash though.
MarkA is offline  
Old 10-10-2013, 10:15 AM
  #10  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 158
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ThePanda
Look into castle and viper unsensored systems.
Originally Posted by MarkA
Because the Rustler is 2wd, a sensorsed system will be much more driveable. Unsensored would be fine for the Slash though.
Thank you Panda and Mark. I appreciate your input. Definitely helps with learning this new hobby
yonpds is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.