R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Rookie Zone (https://www.rctech.net/forum/rookie-zone-7/)
-   -   My 1st nitro car not a good start (https://www.rctech.net/forum/rookie-zone/722896-my-1st-nitro-car-not-good-start.html)

Sakuraszero 04-17-2013 04:08 AM

My 1st nitro car not a good start

4 Attachment(s)
I just want to share my recent experience I got when I purchased a nitro motor from a certain hobby shop. As you know if you look at my previous posts im new to the rc scene and not long ago I started shopping around for a 1/10 scale nitro car. It was the 27/3/13 I walked in to a hobby shop and explained to them im new to the rc scene and a friend recommended me to come here and you will help me out with a motor. I purchased a Novarossi .12 3port tuned motor for $375AUD and a few other things The motor didn’t come with a glow plug so I also purchased that and on the phone telling my friend about my purchase he found that strange as he said all Novarossi engines come with glow plugs. I was not shown the motor just saw it through the display case and purchased it straight away. I then went home stored it away and went on the amain website and ordered a mugen mtx5, body and a starter box. That came in about a week later I started assembling the car and my friend told me not to install the motor yet as he wants to show me how to adjust the clutch, start the car, run it in and tuning. I assembled the car in my own time and was finished. The weekend that just gone I gave everything to my friend who knows a lot about rc cars and he was shocked to noticed that the motor on close inspection had been used. He showed me all the signs as you can see in the pictures and told me these people are normally pretty good take it back there must be some sort of mistake. He knows I haven’t started the car as my starter box is not assembled and I don’t have any other nitro car to put it in. 15/3/13 I travelled once again which is over an hour drive in p