Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
RC reciever ESC and twin motors hook up >

RC reciever ESC and twin motors hook up

RC reciever ESC and twin motors hook up

Old 03-04-2013, 11:54 PM
Tech Rookie

Smile RC reciever ESC and twin motors hook up

I have a question about making my own remote control robot.

Apologies if I should be posting elsewhere/finding answers in other threads, please redirect me if so.

Now i have the following, and a few options to put it all together. I'm new to all this stuff so don't know much.

I have:
(sorry cant post URLs)

Arduino Uno
Motor Drive Shield L293D
Tamiya #70108 Tracked Vehicle Chassis Kit
Tamiya #70168 Double GearBox L/R Independent 4 speed
SG90 9G Servos
Arduino UltraSonic Distance Measuring Modules
Electronic Speed Controller
RC Transmitter and Reciever Combo

Now I want to make a robot that I can control using the RC transmitter.

Not sure yet if I need the motors etc hooked up to the Arduino, or if I'll use that simply to add sensors etc onto as I make it more complicated.

Now my question ..

I'm using the double gear box because I figure that if i can make one motor go, and the other one not, I can make the tracked wheels turn. Does this make sense, and will it work? If it will work, how do I hook up the ESC, Reciever, and motors, so that when i use the transmitter, it turns etc how i want it to.

Or do I need to let the tracks just run in a straight line, and use a servo and other set of wheels to control turning?

Any suggestions/ideas on how I can make my robot work, with all these. I'm gonna add on sensors and modules later on for random things, but not really concerned with that at the moment. Just need to be able to control the motors and movement of my robot through the transmitter receiver esc and twin motors at the moment.

Please help!
Old 03-06-2013, 09:49 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)