Traxxas Rustler XL5 RTR upgrade Advice >

Traxxas Rustler XL5 RTR upgrade Advice

Traxxas Rustler XL5 RTR upgrade Advice

Old 01-27-2013, 10:20 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default Traxxas Rustler XL5 RTR upgrade Advice

Hi

I am new to rc cars and have just bought a Traxxas Rustler XL5 RTR and just looking for some advice on upgrades I should look at getting to make it a little faster than stock speed. I am not looking at racing it but just general bashing/driving. I currently have a $300-$400 budget. I have been doing some reading up on upgrades, but I am confused about what upgrades I should get first.
Old 01-28-2013, 08:50 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Newtothis2
Hi

I am new to rc cars and have just bought a Traxxas Rustler XL5 RTR and just looking for some advice on upgrades I should look at getting to make it a little faster than stock speed. I am not looking at racing it but just general bashing/driving. I currently have a $300-$400 budget. I have been doing some reading up on upgrades, but I am confused about what upgrades I should get first.
Brushless and Lipo would be the first thing I'd do. Traxxas makes the VXL system and would work great for your purposes since you won't be racing.
Old 01-28-2013, 12:16 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

I believe Traxxas has a trade in deal where you give them your brushed motor and ESC and for $120 you get their brushless system. Get some lipo's and call it a day. In my opinion, the Rustler is not worth throwing a lot of money at. Most of the alloy bits you see for sale aren't very good quality and often weigh more than the plastic parts they replace.
Old 01-28-2013, 04:29 PM
Tech Rookie

I agree the trade up is a way to go,but for the 30 to 40 dollars you will save I would,or should I say have ,kept the xl-5 for a update on a future rc(i.e my grandsons circuit).I think traxxas is counting on people doing the trade up.