Wiki Posts
Search

NEW TO LIPO, NEED HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2013, 01:52 PM
Tech Rookie

Exclamation NEW TO LIPO, NEED HELP!

Hey!
I'm fairly new to the RC hobby and haven't had any experience with lipo batteries. I am looking to get some lipo batteries and a good multi-functional charger for under $200 ($150 If possible).

So here's my questions:

-what charger would U guys reccomend? (I would like to charge 2 batts at a time but the main thing is having a quality charge/balance. it would be a plus if it had a storage function)

-what is the best mah/cell-count/c-rate combination? (I have 2 traxxas rustlers, one with the stock vxl setup, and one with a duratrax element setup)

-are the Turnigy Nano-Tech batteries good quality?

like I said, I'm new to lipos and don't want to spend a ton of money and find out its not what I wanted.

any and all advice appreciated!
Old 01-16-2013, 02:20 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Nano-techs are great batteries I have many myself and all work great. With the vehicles you are running anything over 30c and you should be fine but higher is always better. Same goes with MaH higher the better just depends on what you can afford. I would recommend at least 5000 just for run time. As for chargers if you want to charge two at a time the chargers get a little pricey and most likely you will need power supply. You would probably be better of buying two chargers that come with power supplies allready. If you order from Hobbyking for the nanos look at the chargers they got and pick one or two that fits your budget. All chargers pretty much have the same functions and features. I have three different chargers and three different brands and they all have same functions.

Last edited by huzzler; 01-16-2013 at 02:32 PM.
Old 01-17-2013, 02:47 AM
Tech Champion

+1 on the turnigy, good value
Old 01-17-2013, 03:02 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 85 (99%+)