Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Backup electronics when racing? >

Backup electronics when racing?

Backup electronics when racing?

Old 01-03-2013, 07:11 AM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (57)
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 3,673
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default Backup electronics when racing?

It sounds like brushless motors last in years nowadays. What about servos and ESC's? When I raced long ago, I had a few backup electronics on race day. Is that a thing of the past?
shagino is offline  
Old 01-03-2013, 08:14 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The electronics are pretty reliable, but they do fail sometimes. The vast majority of ESC failures I've seen are from people accidentally plugging them in backwards.

Having a spare ESC and servo is nice insurance, but would rarely be needed.

The motors don't really last years. Not in spec classes anyway, since most people gear just below meltdown, the rotors get cooked and lose magnetism. Mod motors will be competitive longer, if you keep the bearings in good condition.
locked is offline  
Old 01-03-2013, 11:23 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
justpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NH, USA
Posts: 2,063
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

It really all depends on how competitive you want to be.
Many places have a shop, so you can get replacements of some sort, in the unlikely event that something happens.
However, if you're more competitive, it isn't uncommon to keep a spare of everything (or a spare car). I want to eventually get to a point where I have a spare full electronics set. Then if something happens, I can just pop the esc and motor out and drop the replacements in without having to deal with soldering, and be back ready to go with peace of mind in a few minutes and a couple screws.
justpoet is offline  
Old 01-03-2013, 03:34 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (30)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Zionsville, IN
Posts: 578
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

I keep a cheap RTR servo in my pit box in case of failure at the track. I haven't had to use it, but i'd just throw it on the throttle and move the throttle servo to steering. I can't justify having a $120 servo sitting in my pit box for a spare...LOL... Don't race electrics, so don't know about ESC's, etc. I always have an already broken-in backup nitro engine with me as well. You just never know...
sdtech58 is offline  
Old 01-04-2013, 11:48 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (38)
 
cdwilliams1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 1,055
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Keep a spare sensor cable handy. That's the only thing I've really ever had fail on me during racing, at least for the electronics.
cdwilliams1 is offline  
Old 01-04-2013, 12:15 PM
  #6  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 55
Default

I keep spare everything.. just because I know what I'm doing..always have a spare..
as 4 esc only going out when cross wired thats PURE BULL..seen a Novak Ballistic esc go up in flames in the middle of a 6 minute main..(guess the marshall ran out in mid air and crossed his wire LOL @ that statement) also put in a new Hitec servo 1st turn touched the corner post and blew the servo apart....

Always have a backup setup to your radio ready to Drop in and Go..If your wallet- wife -or bank lets u LOL..
Carpet Racer69 is offline  
Old 01-04-2013, 01:05 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Carpet Racer69 View Post
I keep spare everything.. just because I know what I'm doing..always have a spare..
as 4 esc only going out when cross wired thats PURE BULL..seen a Novak Ballistic esc go up in flames in the middle of a 6 minute main..(guess the marshall ran out in mid air and crossed his wire LOL @ that statement) also put in a new Hitec servo 1st turn touched the corner post and blew the servo apart....

Always have a backup setup to your radio ready to Drop in and Go..If your wallet- wife -or bank lets u LOL..
Do you have a problem understanding english? I said the majority of the failures I've seen is from someone plugging it in wrong. "Majority" means more than half, not all.

I have had an ESC fail in my car and I've seen others fail in their cars too, but I've seen far more fail because of user error.
locked is offline  
Old 01-06-2013, 03:43 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (101)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pgh,pa
Posts: 1,935
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default Locked

I agree with you I see a lot of people even people who think they know what there doing plug things in wrong. I keep a esc for both 1/8 & 1/10 and 1servo and yes have a sensor wire handy
Revo Dan is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.