brakes

Old 12-31-2012, 08:21 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Jez81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: melb
Posts: 113
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default brakes

Gday, hoping for some help.

Ive started driving track with a brushless associated tc6.1.
Now my problem is when im really aggressive from the accelerator to the brake, it makes a loud short grind noise which is obviously coming from the pinion/spur.

Is this normal?
Do i need the gear mesh closer or further apart?
Any setting for Tx or esc that would help?
Do certain pinion teeth numbers work better with certain spur teeth numbers?

I have tried lowering brake strength on esc and TX epa but then i dont have good brakes when i need them. Even then, shouldnt the wheels just skid - without the loud grind.

ps. esc is rspro
Jez81 is offline  
Old 12-31-2012, 08:26 PM
  #2  
Tech Apprentice
 
Velineon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 62
Default

Do you have actual brakes or just an electronic brake?
Velineon is offline  
Old 12-31-2012, 08:31 PM
  #3  
Moderator
iTrader: (11)
 
Deja Vu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Omaha, Ne
Posts: 1,015
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

You can always try the "paper trick" to set your gear mesh properly. I've done it enough that I don't mess with it though and simply set it so that there is just a slight wiggle when you rock the spur. Are you running 48 pitch or 64 pitch? The finer pitch is more critical of course.

Does the car make any noise when you apply full brakes on the bench? Are you running a ball diff?
Deja Vu is offline  
Old 12-31-2012, 08:47 PM
  #4  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (31)
 
racer1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 15,366
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Are you sure the belt's not skipping?
racer1812 is offline  
Old 12-31-2012, 09:02 PM
  #5  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (31)
 
racer1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 15,366
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Velineon View Post
Do you have actual brakes or just an electronic brake?

.....I'll bet he's Flintstoning and yanking the e-brake at the same time, this along with warped rotors is causing the chain in the transfer case to skip.
racer1812 is offline  
Old 01-01-2013, 12:33 AM
  #6  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Jez81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: melb
Posts: 113
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

chain and transfer case?
this is the rc forum i posted right?
It does it with both 48 and 64 and i dont think the belt is capable of making a noise like that.
Gear diff and no noise when its off the ground.

Last edited by Jez81; 01-01-2013 at 02:34 AM.
Jez81 is offline  
Old 01-01-2013, 02:47 AM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (51)
 
Rock333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

If the gears are not stripping when you do this it is belt slip. racer1812 is just poking fun.
Pretty much your belt is not tight enough, you hit the brake and the belt stops but the wheels keep turning, causing the sound you hear. If it was your pinion and spur doing that they would be stripped. When it is off the ground there is no load on the wheels this is why you don't hear it then. I would also go with ball diffs.
Another thing, If it were the pinion and spur it would make this sound both on acceleration and deceleration.
Rock333 is offline  
Old 01-01-2013, 03:33 AM
  #8  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Jez81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: melb
Posts: 113
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

hmmm,
ill try tightening the belt and see how it goes.
it is still on the stock setting so it could have stretched over time i guess.
thanks
Jez81 is offline  
Old 01-01-2013, 05:32 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (51)
 
Rock333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Yes belts do stretch. Look at the teeth on the belt to see if they are worn.
Rock333 is offline  
Old 01-01-2013, 08:34 AM
  #10  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (31)
 
racer1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 15,366
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Maybe check your pulley's for debris as well. I've run on some carpet that would get everywhere, including packed into the pulley cogs. Not sure if you're running carpet or not.

My other comment wasn't directed at you, thus the reason for the quote.
racer1812 is offline  
Old 01-01-2013, 01:39 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (152)
 
JFuel11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central IL
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 152 (100%+)
Default Check belts and pulleys

Check belts and make sure they are in good conditions still. Also clean your pulleys as suggested and make sure they are not packed with carpet fibers as this will cause this problem if the belt is a bit loose.
JFuel11 is offline  
Old 01-01-2013, 04:13 PM
  #12  
Moderator
iTrader: (11)
 
Deja Vu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Omaha, Ne
Posts: 1,015
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Or just don't use the brakes

I'm joking of course. Good luck finding the problem! Be sure to post back if you're still having trouble or better yet, that you got it fixed
Deja Vu is offline  
Old 01-01-2013, 05:44 PM
  #13  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Jez81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: melb
Posts: 113
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Cheers for the responses,
Ive tightened the belts and will be testing in about an hour.
Belt teeth look good and pulleys are clean. track is asphalt by the way, no little rocks in there though.
Will post back.
Thanks
Jez81 is offline  
Old 01-01-2013, 11:28 PM
  #14  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Jez81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: melb
Posts: 113
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

well, tightening the belts got rid of the grinding sound thanks guys.

...Now...After having a couple runs the car started handling weird. I checked it and noticed the carbon fibre top deck broken. How the hell i managed that i dont know, i dont even remember having any good stacks..
Jez81 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.