Search

looking for a first kit

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2012, 05:37 AM
pdx
Tech Apprentice

Default looking for a first kit

hello all,

i'm new to rc cars. i own three. they were ready to race. all i had to do was buy a battery or put fuel in and go.

i'm ready to take the next step. i want to build a monster truck kit. i am wanting to go with a monster truck because the truck is best suited to where i live. i run the car at a local park. the park is nothing but grass. i'd be interested in a buggy if it has enough height to clear cut grass.

i own some basic hand tools. screwdrivers, wrenches, soldering iron.

so my questions are:

what is a good kit for a beginer? (new to rc)
what is a better route to go for learning, electric or nitro?
should i invest in specialty tools? are they needed?

my goals in wanting to build a kit:

- to learn how to work on my own cars
- to have fun tinkering in my garage

so what do you all think?

thanks
pdx

Last edited by pdx; 09-30-2012 at 07:50 AM. Reason: spell check
Old 09-30-2012, 10:01 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)

Don't go nitro unless you know how to tune a motor. They can be a headache. Are u looking at 1/8th scale buggies?
Old 09-30-2012, 10:05 AM
pdx
Tech Apprentice

Originally Posted by Tran901
Don't go nitro unless you know how to tune a motor. They can be a headache. Are u looking at 1/8th scale buggies?
1/8 scale is good.

i own a traxxas tmaxx. been playing with the nitro a little. some days it works great. then some days i spend just getting it to idle. ha ha ha

electric and nitro each have their good points and bad. both are cool.
Old 09-30-2012, 02:05 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)