Wiki Posts
Search

gearing, temps, run time, etc AIO

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2012, 10:10 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default gearing, temps, run time, etc AIO

im looking for some reliable all-in-one info on the aforementioned topic. i am admittedly a newb, and i'm trying to learn as much as i can about this stuff. since setup is required to get the info im looking for, here's mine:

xxx-sct, 2.43:1 trans ratio
88t spur, 23t pinion, 3.83 "final drive"
orion vortex pro stock 13.5 & hobbywing SCT pro, 2s lipo
can timing is zero, esc timing is maxed out at 26.25°
TLR motor plate if it matters, otherwise no fan/heatsink on motor, no air holes in body, etc
track has a 400ish ft centerline, with a 90-100ft straight. im running 25s fast laps and averaging 28s(again, im a newb lol)

with that out of the way, here is where i am at: after about 15-20 solid minutes of running, i am thermaling out. i use this truck exclusively for racing, no speed runs, no parking lot bashing, no grass, etc. so after 15-20 minutes of practice, my motor is burning hot(waiting for FedEx to bring my temp gun), but the esc & packs are ambient temperature. my ESC shuts it down, i let it sit for 20 minutes.

I've been reading online and have found most people agree that hot motor + cool esc = over geared. someone said the reason the motor is hot is because the motor is running at its max rpm for too long, which causes the motor to heat up but since its not drawing much current the esc is staying cool.

I've been told i should go down a tooth or two on the pinion to keep the motor temps down.

here are my questions:

am i just bring overly cautious? 15-20 minutes of racing would heat up anything, right?