Search

directional problem

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2005, 04:54 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default directional problem

hi all

I am still new to the tc3 and am still trying to figure out all the dial ins and stuff but I am stuck on a major problem. I can never go down the straight away without drifting off to the right or left side.

I checked the droop on the front and the rear, I refilled the shocks and made sure the ride height was exact, I remeasured all the turnbuckels front and rear, i tried tighening and loosening the rear diff. I still drift to one side when I am on a straight away.

I try to compensate by changing the setting on the transmitter (i forget which one) but I don't care for that Idea because I feel it handycaps me. It should be easy to go straight right?

any help would be... well , helpfull

dave
Old 02-16-2005, 06:43 AM
Tech Elite

could be a couple of things.

first off make sure your sevo is centering correctly. next check all your front steering. disconect the servo and see if it swings from left to right freely. if not check for bad ball cup, overtighten rack. dirty rack, over tightened screw on the steering hub. Any kind of binding will make the car do what you describe
Old 02-16-2005, 07:12 AM
Tech Regular

Originally posted by howard hudson
could be a couple of things.

first off make sure your sevo is centering correctly. next check all your front steering. disconect the servo and see if it swings from left to right freely. if not check for bad ball cup, overtighten rack. dirty rack, over tightened screw on the steering hub. Any kind of binding will make the car do what you describe
A bad ball cup? thats connected to the turnbuckles right? You have a point about the steering. there is a lot of dust and hair in the steering rack. I cleaned it out and put some stealth lube in it but afte a while the dust and hair got worse. I'm guessing its an ongoing thing ?
Old 02-16-2005, 08:31 AM
Tech Elite