Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Is not the fastest servo the more flexible choice? >

Is not the fastest servo the more flexible choice?

Is not the fastest servo the more flexible choice?

Old 03-26-2012, 02:19 PM
Tech Apprentice

Default Is not the fastest servo the more flexible choice?

For track racing without considering cost, I'm wondering about buying the best and fastest servo for my Losi 1/10 buggy, SCT, 4x4, etc. I can use the Servo Speed in my Spectrum DX3R Pro radio to turn down the servo speed from 100% to whatever lower value I want and prefer for each car. I know there are a lot of variable, but each car would generally match each others' servo speed and each car's steering should "feel" and react about the same.

I'm a beginner and don't want the car going left/right/left down the lane because I'm overcorrecting. I probably wouldn't need Expo then but have a nice, smooth, linear action.

But if I ever get good, I can increase the Servo Speed in all cars to whatever is my new ability.

It doesn't seem right to put in an expensive Tekin motor/RS ESC with an SR3520 receiver and then an inexpensive, slow response, low in-oz servo. A good servo should last longer than a cheaper one plus there is less time spent changing servos to better spend on racing/praticing.
TakeAim
Old 03-26-2012, 02:34 PM
Tech Champion

I think you are on the right track. In my experience a good quality fast servo is perhaps the single best hop up, wouldn't leave home without it.
Old 03-26-2012, 04:29 PM
Tech Initiate

I agree get the best
Old 03-27-2012, 08:14 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

I've bought four servos in the last 25 years and two of those were because of the transition to digital/brushless servos so if you buy quality, you'll find one servo will outlast many, many cars.
Old 03-27-2012, 08:20 AM
Tech Elite