R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Rookie Zone (https://www.rctech.net/forum/rookie-zone-7/)
-   -   Battery charge question (https://www.rctech.net/forum/rookie-zone/605191-battery-charge-question.html)

Final Asgard 03-02-2012 09:09 PM

Battery charge question

Hey guys,

I am new to the RC world and am wondering about battery charging. One of my batteries has on it the amp rating recommended to charge it, but the other is missing.

I heard that stick with 1c is a safe bet. I have a 5000 mAh battery and a charge that can charge up to 5 amps, so I can do 1c on that battery, so question #1, is 5 amps safe to charge that battery with?

Question #2 for my lower rated battery (3300 mAh) what is best to charge at. 0.5c, 1c, or 1.5c?

I looked it up online and have found answers varying from "always just charge with 5 amps" to "never charge more than c/2" so I am confused by the topic. :P

Thanks guys! :)

Dave H 03-02-2012 11:17 PM

Depends on the type of battery they are, the 1C guideline only applies to lipos. Nimh and nicads are different, 1C doesn’t apply.

If they are lipos then 5 amps for the 5000mAh, 3.3 amps for the 3300mAh and so on.

If they are nimh it depends some on the exact cells and how they are being used, but 4 amps is probably a reasonable starting point. Adjust depending on how warm they get during the bulk of the charge, reduce some if they get more than slightly warm except at the end when they should noticeably warm up. But not get so hot that they are uncomfortable to hold.

porterdog 03-03-2012 08:13 AM

Originally Posted by Dave H (Post 10414328)
...the 1C guideline only applies to lipos.

There are plenty of LiPOs on the market that allow 2-10C charge rates. The latest Hyperions are 5C, as are the latest Gens Ace.