Fuel?

Old 02-29-2012, 04:41 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Fuel?

Im new to the nitro scene. What kind of fuel is everyone running? I started with Traxxas top fuel when I first got my car together and it ran great. Then I switched to this stuff called Byron Fuels. Hasn't run right since. It seems to make less power (tho its not horrible) and overheats faster. Oh ya, Ive got a Nitro Sport with a 2.5R. Thanks
Old 03-01-2012, 05:01 AM
Tech Rookie

First question, why did you switch fuels if everything was running great? Second, which Byron fuel have you tried running?

Traxxas with the 2.5R engine recommends their Traxxas top fuel 20% nitro fuel. While they don't make it known what their oil percentage is in their fuel, from other nitro racing sites it is reported to have a 16% oil content. Note though, not all fuel providers measure their oil content in the same manner, and they vary in the type of oil used in fuels.

With this being if I were to use Byron fuels I would try their Race RTR20 Gen2 fuel. It is 20% nitro 16% oil. Maybe even Cool Power. They have a fuel called Sidewinder Basher which has the same 20% nitro 16% oil content.

The overheating faster could be due to how lean you have your mixture set, or again the oil content. Since the oils main function in hobby fuels is to reduce friction, less friction equals cooler running.

As to what is the best fuel to run. That is like what is the best car or truck to run. It's personal preference. And what mixture might work great on the east coast might not work that well where you are.
Old 03-01-2012, 06:36 AM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 252 (100%+)

+1 good info
Old 03-02-2012, 02:29 PM
Tech Rookie