Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
car running backwards???? >

car running backwards????

car running backwards????

Old 02-25-2012, 09:23 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
kornatoa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Defiance Ohio
Posts: 130
Default car running backwards????

Hey I'm new to rc and I. Have an old duratrax that's stock. While I was driving it earlier today it stopped and went in reverse. When I push the break/ reverse it goes foward. Any ideas on what it could be?
kornatoa is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 09:33 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
chaseman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lake Elsinore,ca
Posts: 297
Default

On your radio there should be a switch marked throttle or "th" slide it to the opposite position and you should be good.
chaseman1 is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 09:54 PM
  #3  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
kornatoa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Defiance Ohio
Posts: 130
Default

I tried messing with the radio and and it still does the same thing. If it helps its a brushed motor with an old tatic am radio.
kornatoa is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 11:15 PM
  #4  
jf+
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
jf+'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 329
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kornatoa View Post
I tried messing with the radio and and it still does the same thing. If it helps its a brushed motor with an old tatic am radio.
were you messing with the motor before this happened? if so, switch any two of the motor cables running to the esc.
jf+ is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 12:14 AM
  #5  
Tech Apprentice
 
PaulL5156's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Imperial Valley
Posts: 63
Default

NOO!!! dont switch the esc to motor cables. He is running a brushed system it will fry your electronics. It has to be a radio issue, try reversing your throttle channel.
PaulL5156 is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 01:10 AM
  #6  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7,342
Default

Actually a brushed motor only has two wires, and switching them won't fry the electronics with a reversing speed control. (If it was forward only and had a Schottky diode on the motor then it would be an issue) If the motor was worked on and either the endbell or wires were switched this is likely the problem.

Other possibility as mentioned, if the radio has channel reversing capability and that was accidentally switched.
Dave H is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 07:21 AM
  #7  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
kornatoa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Defiance Ohio
Posts: 130
Default

When I reversed the throttle position switch it goes backwards with no throttle input. Could it possibly be the external capacitors on the motor?
kornatoa is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 07:59 AM
  #8  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7,342
Default

No to the capacitors. When you reversed the throttle channel it likely shifted your throttle trim setting. Readjust it. Might need to reset the neutral and full throttle settings on the speed control, or adjust EPA/travel on the radio, to get proper operation.
Dave H is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 08:23 AM
  #9  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
kornatoa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Defiance Ohio
Posts: 130
Default

It has the stock duratrx sprint 2 esc so I have no idea how to reset that. Once my battery pack is charged I'll try adjusting the trim on the radio.
kornatoa is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 08:46 AM
  #10  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7,342
Default

Does it look like the ESC on page 6 of this manual? Is so there are the instructions, and some trouble shooting help following. Not a Sprint 2, but they look similar, guessing they work the same.

Evader manual with Sprint ESC setup directions

Might also explain how it got switched, not holding off for 2 seconds to avoid resetting.
Dave H is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 08:52 AM
  #11  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7,342
Default

Check the addendum too:

Evader Manual Addendum

Guessing it's saying to center the throttle trim in case your radio is different.
Dave H is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 08:59 AM
  #12  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
kornatoa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Defiance Ohio
Posts: 130
Default

I reversed the trottle switch and adjusted the trim and now everything is back to where is should be. Thanks to you all for all the help! I greatly appreciate it very much.
kornatoa is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.