R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-07-2005, 05:29 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Ridge_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Ridge_Racer Send a message via Yahoo to Ridge_Racer
Default Still Confused about Batteries

hi

When I first bought these hurricanes, every number on the batteries label was explained to me. I seem to need a refresher course.

if I were to go clockwise from the left of the battery with the batterys positive facing right, these are the numbers I would see.

0421 30 1.156 17 5000 3508 0.90 6.0


what do all these numbers mean and what numbers are important to me?


You guys are great

thanks again

RR
Ridge_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 01:16 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
mafiaracers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Linn, Oregon
Posts: 3,759
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to mafiaracers Send a message via MSN to mafiaracers
Default

Someone will have to help you out on the 0421....but....

30-discharge rate
1.156-individual cell voltage
17-internal resistance
5000(seconds)-total cell dicharge time
3508-total MAH cell can hold
.9-discharge cutoff rate
6.0-charge rate.

Individual cell voltage and internal resistnace are very important. The higher the voltage, the faster the battery.....the lower the resistance, the easier it is to release its energy.
__________________
Chris Woods

MAFIA MOTORSPORTS
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/168239-pit-board.html

TEAM WAVE
www.teamwaveonline.com

TQ Racing Wire
www.tqracing.com
mafiaracers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 01:24 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

421 seconds of runtime at a 30 amp discharge down to .9v.
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 08:53 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Ridge_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Ridge_Racer Send a message via Yahoo to Ridge_Racer
Default

Thanks again guys

I have another question about the batteries. The total MAH the battery can hold number is diffrent for each of the six cells in this stick. This is a normal thing right? And can I get a pack with the same number thoughout and will it make any diffrence?


RR
__________________
http://www.countdowntovegas.blogspot.com
Ridge_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 12:09 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
mafiaracers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Linn, Oregon
Posts: 3,759
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to mafiaracers Send a message via MSN to mafiaracers
Default

Yes, this is normal. Most all cells will differ a little from eachother. It all depends on the Matcher (what company did the matching) and the quality of the pack you bought.

Example....if you bought an ultra, top of the line, top 5% of the 2000 cells matched, battery pack, all the numbers would be VERY close to eachother and be very good numbers. However, a little difference from cell to cell isn't really going to be felt.

The batteries the factory guys get and the batteries you have ARE different simply because the very best cells are saved for them, but that's to be expected.

If you're just looking for a faster battery, then find batteries with higher voltage. I'm running 1.19's, they're uber fast!
__________________
Chris Woods

MAFIA MOTORSPORTS
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/168239-pit-board.html

TEAM WAVE
www.teamwaveonline.com

TQ Racing Wire
www.tqracing.com
mafiaracers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 01:55 PM   #6
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Default

if anything im even worse, what significance does mAh and the number of volts have? Do they affect performance and running time? For example I'm running a 2000 mAh, 7.2volt battery and I want one that's faster but wont affect running time too much. thanks
Kyle_12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 02:17 PM   #7
Tech Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Holy 5year old thread!

Mah is the capacity of a battery. The bigger the number the longer the run time. Think of it as the gallons in a fuel tank, more gallons (higher mah) longer it will run.

Voltage is directly tied to RPM (revolutions per minute), the higher the voltage, the faster the motor spins and the higher the speed. If your motor and esc allow the higher voltage, you could use a 2000mah 7 cell that would be 8.4v versus the 7.2v you run now. Run time wouldn't be changed too much and if the esc and motor can handle the higher voltage it would be faster. The battery also has to be able to fit into your rc, make sure you can use s 7 cell pack. There are pack construction options though that may help if you've got room probs.

Usually when you step up the speed, you tend to run the car faster and use more speed than you used to and run time goes down. You may want to get a higher mah battery as well, like 3000mah.
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 02:37 PM   #8
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Default

how do i know if the motor and esc can handle it? I run a titan 12t 550 traxxas motor, and the esc is the one that came in the box (HPI E10)
Kyle_12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 06:17 PM   #9
Tech Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

The esc and motor can handle 8 cells - heres specs on the esc -

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXTNN2&P=7


The Titan 12t motor is used in the Trx Stampede and that comes with an 8 cell pack, so you know it'll handle 8 cells as well.


The prob is the esc is not rated for 15t motors - see the note at the top in the link - it's made for brushes motors 21t and up. You're likely to run into pros trying to use 15t, but if you've been running it, then maybe its ok?
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 12:30 PM   #10
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Default

well I've run it with the 7v and it was fine until the battery ran out...
Kyle_12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 02:39 PM   #11
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Default

so do u think it would be ok if i ran it with this? or should i stick to 7v?
Kyle_12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 02:59 PM   #12
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 10
Default

if its not made for it, i would stop. wouldn't want to fry something. i would look in the for sale section or on ebay for an esc that'll handle a 12t and 7 cell. i used Google and did a bunch of research before buying something.
projectken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 12:37 AM   #13
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Default

ok thanks guys
Kyle_12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm New And Confused!!! shaunmotyka Nitro Off-Road 2 02-19-2008 03:03 PM
13.5... anyone confused yet? racer34v Electric On-Road 46 07-04-2007 08:04 PM
confused JIMCAR Nitro On-Road 8 03-31-2006 08:14 PM
Confused Denso#1 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 1 08-02-2004 12:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:57 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net