R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-21-2004, 09:40 AM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 73
Default Measuring Amp Draw

How to measure amp draw of a 9t motor?
RC12L3a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 06:25 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Nrctc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 2,536
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Nrctc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Nrctc3
Default

A dyno, I'm sure there's other ways... I just dont know them.
Nrctc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 07:45 PM   #3
bst
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: ORLANDO, FL.
Posts: 251
Default D.C. AMP/VOLT METER

CHECK YOUR LOCAL RADIO SHACK FOR A D.C. VOLT/AMP METER. NOW WHAT TO DO WITH THE INFORMATION? OR WHAT DOES IT MEAN? I DON'T KNOW, BUT WOULD LIKE TO FIND OUT. PLEASE PASS ON ANY INFORMATION. THANKS, DON
bst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 11:52 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
factoryteamryan's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dublin, OH
Posts: 128
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default




factoryteamryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2004, 03:47 PM   #5
Regional Moderator
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LaGrange, GA
Posts: 186
Default

there are meters capable of measuring amp draw by measuring the magnetic field around the wires. the Fluke version is at this url
http://us.fluke.com/usen/products/Fl...keUnitedStates
petzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2005, 10:51 AM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ROAR HAD ME BANNED FROM RC TECH.
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

You need either an inductive style amp meter like shown above with the Fluke model, or a inline amp meter.

Inductive meters use a magnetic field to count the number of electrons (or protons, depending on the theory used.) moving through the wire.

Inline meters measure the amount of current flowing through them.

Many multimeters have an inline amp meter function - but - they only typically measure 5 or 10A max. You'll need to find a amp meter that can tolerate higher amps, which is also found on something like the Fluke meter.
Desolas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 06:44 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
schmelme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

The best way to measure amp draw is with a charger or power supply capable or running the motor at 3 volts or so. Checking amp draw is good way to check the condition of the motor after some runs with it.
schmelme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
measuring amps and how big is 2 big?? Reburg99 Monster Trucks 1 03-07-2007 07:17 PM
Measuring droop peded Electric On-Road 5 01-19-2007 08:02 AM
Measuring armatures John Doucakis Electric On-Road 4 12-16-2003 09:11 AM
Measuring Amp draw by a discharger, HELP! Cain Electric On-Road 5 09-04-2002 01:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:59 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net