Rookie B4.1 owner >

Rookie B4.1 owner

Rookie B4.1 owner

Old 11-29-2011, 02:57 AM
Q2
Tech Rookie

Default Rookie B4.1 owner

Hi guys,

I'm new to the hole rc world and I think I'm hooked..

I've currently got a stock Team Associated B4.1 RTR stock as a rock and I'm keen to give this baby some more punch.

I'm uncertain what I can do, I'm interested in dropping in a faster brushless motor but I'm not sure which one will give me the most for my money, which one will fit, which one will work with the current stock speed controller and also should I change my pinion gearing as well, maybe a 16T. (saw a video of a B4 with 16T and I loved it acceleration it had)

My budget is around $150-$200 any help would be much appreciated.

Q
Old 11-29-2011, 11:32 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)

id say new motor and esc...if your not in a rush buy the motor used, i personally am a big fan of tekin products, the tekin rs esc is really nice as well. between the two your car can boogy!
Old 11-30-2011, 02:57 AM
Q2
Tech Rookie

Thanks jirish617, which motor will fit? or do they all fit?

Dose anyone here own a B4.1 and did an upgrade? If so what did they put in?
Old 11-30-2011, 09:15 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Q2
Thanks jirish617, which motor will fit? or do they all fit?

Dose anyone here own a B4.1 and did an upgrade? If so what did they put in?
Any 540 can motor will fit. You just need to adjust your gearing to the specific motor. Bookmark this site for gearing recommendations. Since I assume you're looking for maximum speed and don't need a specific spec of motor for organized racing, an 8.5 or maybe 7.5 is about the most a 2wd buggy can use.

As for ESC, because 2wd buggys don't run well on the cheaper sensorless stuff, my usual recommendation is to buy a used race-grade (i.e. LRP, etc) ESC and pair that with a new motor of your choice.
Old 11-30-2011, 10:18 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)