Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Can I get some help with a SC10 purchace? >

Can I get some help with a SC10 purchace?

Can I get some help with a SC10 purchace?

Old 09-20-2011, 08:59 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Can I get some help with a SC10 purchace?

So i am pretty new to RC cars, bought a rustler a few years ago, i have played with it a bunch but never raced. I just got my first lipo battery last month. So last week I bought a used SC10 for my 11 year old son to have on his birthday. It was setup for racing, so i changed the gearing and such to slow it down, so he won't cook the motor. So now I would like to get a SC10 for myself so me and my son can race together. Since i would like the experience of putting it together myself, I would like to get a kit. Now my question is, well actually i have a few of them, and hopefully someone doesn't mind answering them.
First is i am not sure which i would like, I was looking online at the kits but i can't tell the difference between them
Associated 1/10 SC10 Factory Team Kit
Associated 1/10 SC10 2WD Race Truck Kit
I found them on the tower hobbies website
so I am guessing that the difference between them is upgraded parts? I see the descriptions are different but I don't really know what the difference is between them. So should I be buying the more expensive one because it will have better parts or will I be replacing those parts eventually with better racing parts. Granted I could probably replace over time after I get better or if something breaks.
The next is I do not know how to choose a motor, esc and pinion gear.
Also I am assuming i should get a spectrum radio so I only have one radio for it and for my rustler, and any others i may aquire in the future.
The last thing is should i be considering a 4x4 instead? I hope that the 2wd is a popular class.

I hope that wasn't too long and I hope someone can help out, thanks in advance
Old 09-20-2011, 10:18 PM
Tech Adept