Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Lipo Battery run time? >

Lipo Battery run time?

Lipo Battery run time?

Reply

Old 09-19-2011, 09:01 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
wrathfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Surrey, BC
Posts: 116
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Lipo Battery run time?

So I fairly new to Lipo batteries, I have done a bunch of reading but can't figure something out. I was told not to run it completely down because it can damage the battery. ok, so then how do i know how long i can run it for? Running it down till i notice a loss of power i can notice, but I am worried about my 11 year old son noticing that when he is having fun. I have a rustler vxl that has stock electronics, and just bought a used sc10 for my son. The sc10 has a Orca vrita vtc pro esc. My thought is don't esc's have a option to shut the car down if the battery usage reaches a certain point, like i am assuming running it down to 20% would be safe?

Can anyone answer this for me plz? thanks in advance

ps. the only lipo battery i have atm is a nuclear power 7.4v 5000mah 25c
wrathfull is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 09:59 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Aus
Posts: 328
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

some esc have a cut off features on it, mostly brushless type esc.

it will start to cut the power off when its in low voltage then it will die before u finish the battery.

u cant run the lipo all the way till empty otherwise it will damage the cells then it will get fat, lol. once it gets fat theres a chance of it blowing up or caught fire.
cielo1889 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 10:09 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
ta04evah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

If your current speed control doesn't have a lipo cut off function then you can use one of these. http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=18987

The volume of the alarm is very loud and very noticeable even above the sound that the truck makes when running, it even has led's that turn from green to red when the alarm sounds.

Cheers
Rob.
ta04evah is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 11:05 PM
  #4  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
wrathfull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Surrey, BC
Posts: 116
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

yes it looks like both the ESC's i use have low voltage detection so thats great, thanks for the help guys.
wrathfull is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 11:12 PM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
TOM MAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 994
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

.....
TOM MAR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 07:29 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
 
Chad Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,276
Default

Lipos offer alot more run time than any other battery.
Chad Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 08:27 PM
  #7  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (29)
 
mjc597's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: clarksville, arkansas
Posts: 201
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

yeah they do, i went from a 3000mah 7 cell nimh pack in my sons traxxas monster mutt truck, to a 5000mah 2s 20c lipo...holy crap, it runs strong for 25 minutes bfor the lvc kicks in!!
mjc597 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 06:20 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (27)
 
rdl77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: marikina
Posts: 1,025
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ta04evah View Post
If your current speed control doesn't have a lipo cut off function then you can use one of these. http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=18987

The volume of the alarm is very loud and very noticeable even above the sound that the truck makes when running, it even has led's that turn from green to red when the alarm sounds.

Cheers
Rob.
will this work on my stock inferno ve set up, running 4s(2 2s in series) since the balancer plug only have 3 wires per battery. i dont want to run my lipo's to 3v per cell(stock esc cut off), the alarm from hk sounds at 3.3v/cell. Or do i need 2 alarm, 1 for each pack. thanks
rdl77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 08:06 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
ta04evah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rdl77 View Post
will this work on my stock inferno ve set up, running 4s(2 2s in series) since the balancer plug only have 3 wires per battery. i dont want to run my lipo's to 3v per cell(stock esc cut off), the alarm from hk sounds at 3.3v/cell. Or do i need 2 alarm, 1 for each pack. thanks
It may be a good idea to get 2 of them and have 1 on each pack, as one pack may discharge more then the other while running in the car.
For the small price it's a worthwhile purchase to help protect your batteries.

Cheers
Rob.
ta04evah is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service